Avis sur 2U | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur 2U

Mis à jour le sept. 17, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

486 avis trouvés

4.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
77%
Recommandent à un ami
90%
Approuvent le PDG
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
384 évaluations
  1. Utile (5)

    « Thoughtful company with great people doing important work in education »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    2U is an incredible company. What is particularly special/unique about 2U is it is both a great place to work when thinking about what it means to spend eight or more hours a day at physical office space or home office (great environment, benefits, colleagues, personal and professional support etc.) but is also a company that is doing truly meaningful work that impacts people's lives. It's rare to find a company... where you can enjoy and be passionate about what you do each day in your role, who you work alongside and the mission. And even more importantly, the mission isn't just some fancy copy for a website or sales pitch. 2U's focus on people, partners, students and outcomes is real. It is clearly why leaders including the CEO gets up each day and that filters down throughout the organization creating a culture that is truly special and unlike anywhere else I have had the fortune to work in the last 15 years. The leadership is also incredibly smart and thoughtful — about the strategy and growth plan for the company (and making sure the mission isn’t lost in it), the culture as we continue to scale globally and about each individual employee’s wellbeing and contribution. The last thing I will say is that while companies are not about one person and I truly believe should the CEO or any of the leaders leave at any point, the strength of the company would not waver, the CEO is extraordinary -- as both a human being and a leader. Chip Paucek is one of the best people I have had the fortune to know in both my life and career and tirelessly works to drive outcomes for students, partners and employees. Many CEOs have an obsessively blind focus on dollars, cents and the bottom line only. His balanced focused on sustainability, mission and people is unique and underrated in companies today.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    2U has taken a lot of heat in the space. Both as a public company and as the leading OPM for higher education. It’s important to separate those things and some of the crazy stuff you may read from competitors or naysayers in higher ed from what is really going on at 2U and with their business. The plan ahead is strong, the people and mission are incredible and just like any company that is the leader in a space (or... frankly, leaders within one of the biggest companies in the space), you are often the easiest target for arrows people want to throw. Careful what you believe. I have been at 2U going on seven years and if you decide to join this company, it could be one of the best decisions of your life.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Remain focused on what matters, as you are. Whether it be changes within the company, the space or naysayers continuing to throw stones, this is a great business that is changing lives.

    2U2019-09-11

    Réponse de 2U

    September 12, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to speak on your experience working at 2U. We are happy to hear you are passionate about your work and we will continue to work towards our mission of eliminating the back row in higher education, together.

  2. Utile (3)

    « Great company with great people »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Graphic Designer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great work life balance with unlimited PTO

    Inconvénients

    Tends to lean to the extreme left politically which is never good for any company to be that open about politics.

    2U2019-09-10

    Réponse de 2U

    September 12, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you're enjoying your time at 2U!

  3. Utile (3)

    « Great Place to Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Program Manager à Lanham, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Amazing company with an important mission and vision. It continues to redefine and evolve the higher education landscape. I have always been treated extremely well by mgt and believe in the strength of the leadership of the company.

    Inconvénients

    None of note at this time.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep charting the path forward. The world needs it.

    2U2019-09-10

    Réponse de 2U

    September 10, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you feel supported by management and believe in our mission of eliminating the back row in higher education!

  4. Utile (20)

    « It might seem like a great company... but looks are deceiving »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Admission Counselor à Lanham, MD
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Unlimited PTO and Free snacks (first come first serve tho)

    Inconvénients

    the company's culture has changed drastically. When i first started the company was amazing and it was laid back and a relaxing place to work. As time progressed, people who started with the company in its inception are being placed in leadership roles that they are completely under qualified for. Upper leadership within the organization is absolutely terrible. There is absolutely no need for manager role within the... company If directors in the company actually did there job properly. Also the benefits suck,

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I feel like Chip (the CEO) either doesn't care about the leadership issues in his company or he doesn't care( investors beware). All of the money issues that 2u is currently having could be fixed by placing qualified employees in the proper leadership positions.

    2U2019-09-07

    Réponse de 2U

    September 11, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Your insights into some of our growing pains, especially as we become a global organization, are valuable to understanding the areas we need to continue to focus on. As we grow and evolve, developing managers while creating a more seamless student ...

    Dérouler
  5. « Great »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps partiel moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Snacks, laid back, amazing office and cheese steaks !

    Inconvénients

    Not easy to be noticed in such a big crowd

    2U2019-09-17
  6. Utile (1)

    « Admissions counselor »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Admissions Counselor à Denver, CO
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    This companies culture is better than anywhere I have worked. They know how to give us little things(food, snacks, events, etc) Sounds like the upcoming changes should help the student outcomes because ideally that is our goal to change students lives. I can not say how much I've enjoyed working for this company and changing lives.

    Inconvénients

    When it comes to benefits they are fancy but not what is needed. My last company would help me pay my student loans. We are a company that wants to help others with their education but not employees. Which in admissions is a requirement to get the AC position. Even a little bit to help cut down cost of interest. Being in the middle of Denver means most of us have to take bus or train to travel. We can't afford to... live close but the monthly cost of travel is overwhelming. An Eco pass could help everyone with travel and would be a benefit everyone would use at some point. Admissions is a very numbers base department. We need something to keep us going (raise, commission, advancement) you will have too much turnover if there is nothing to keep them in "sales".

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    My current manager is AMAZING. Cares for my development and is very down to earth. I look forward to what is hopefully to come of my advancement with this company.

    2U2019-09-13
  7. « Mission driven, people focused »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Anonymous à Lanham, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    2U is truly the most people focused organization I have been a part of. It is focused on the people it serves internally, as well as, external when it comes to the students and universities. Many people talk about the great benefits like snacks and the gym but when I think of our biggest benefits it is the people we get the chance to work with. As with any company, not every working relationship is perfect but I... know there are so many people inside and outside of my department I can go to at anytime for anything. I will also say to those of you reading the recent reviews don't believe everything you read. Yes, admissions relies heavily on calls but 2U is so much more than just that department and it would not be fair to based opinions solely on admissions. Yes, it is true there were layoffs but when a company is a brand new industry without clearly defined paths to growth and success re-orgs are bound to happen. From everything I have heard 2U never forgot about the people who were behind the jobs that were cut and have done their best to make it as painless as possible but of course you have to keep in mind 2U is ultimately a business and the goal is to serve the students in the programs. 2U has such a great future ahead and will continue to grow and thrive.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    It can be tough to move department to department within the company and many people view admissions as their foot in the door. When in reality they can often find themselves stuck there.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to push forward and don't let the skeptics win. Listen to some of the quieter voices who might have some of the best things to say.

    2U2019-09-16
  8. Utile (22)

    « Not Worth The Stress »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Admissions Counselor à Lanham, MD
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    -Starting pay is above average. Raises are twice a year for this department -Good benefits (Child free and in good health) -Aesthetically pleasing office, cafe and outdoor courtyard -Coworkers and management are very friendly and it was easy to mesh with my team. Others are not so lucky

    Inconvénients

    To be honest, this role is a total joke. We are NOT admissions counselors, we are telemarketers, making at least 75 dials PER DAY to prospective students. Many of these students are genuinely looking to learn more about our programs and are not at the stage where they are ready to apply, yet we aggressively follow up and badger them to start applications. Metrics are a joke as well. Each cohort, we are given an... unattainable goal (set by finance folks and higher ups) and if we miss said goal, we are on corrective action. If you are on CA, you pretty much run the risk of LOSING YOUR JOB if you do not hit your goal 100% the next cohort. You cant even apply for another job within the company until you are off CA. Many times, you cant hit your goal, due to things well out of your control: high cost of tuition, family emergencies, choosing other schools. We are also tasked to "project" our weekly numbers, aka play mind reader and hold ourselves accountable for the actions of other human beings. We work with top tier universities, but we come off as desperate for profit online programs, due to our telemarketer-like practices. We are even going to start recording calls. Imagine calling the admissions department of a top masters program and hearing that "The call is being recorded for training purposes". I had a different view of this job before I started, but now, I leave with a bad taste in my mouth every day. Its emotionally draining. I thought that piece in The Atlantic was a smear, but there is an uncomfortable amount of truth in that article. They want us to feel like we are changing peoples lives, but I just cant drink the kool-aid. I feel like a pawn in the game of higher education and stocks. Forgot to mention the nepotism, its rampant. Its so easy to get roped in because the the money is good, very good, but I am actively looking for employment elsewhere.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    -Change the metrics system and get rid of CA. This is not fostering motivation. -Get back to BASICS with the role of an admissions counselor. Lose the telemarketer style call cadences. We DO NOT connect with students if THEY feel like WE bug them.

    2U2019-08-28

    Réponse de 2U

    September 7, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The way you described your time on the Admissions team is not something we take lightly. Instead, we would like for every 2Ute to feel as though they can take pride in coming to work and provide white glove service to our university ...

    Dérouler
  9. Utile (1)

    « Enjoyed working here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Admission Counselor 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein

    Avantages

    great experience and great work life balance

    Inconvénients

    management needs better training. too much kool-aid

    2U2019-09-09

    Réponse de 2U

    September 10, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for your perspective. Employee feedback (both current and former) is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your time at 2U. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

  10. Utile (49)

    « Steer clear for your own sanity »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Admissions Counselor à Lanham, MD
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Decent benefits, nice office space, casual dress code, cool coworkers

    Inconvénients

    Admissions Counselors at 2U perform work much closer to fraud telemarketing than "counseling." The volume bleeds the human element out of every phone call because you will constantly be striving to hit metrics and enrollment goals. For every cohort you are given a specific number of enrolled students you have to hit, at the risk of being placed on a Performance Management Plan (on a PMP, if you fail to meet... your goal, you will likely be fired, and you cannot apply for other internal positions). These goals stem from ludicrously optimistic promises made by leadership about the company’s outlook (2U’s public statements on the subject were, in the words of one of several class action law suits now being filed, "materially false and misleading at all relevant times.” So... there's that). As an AC, you have little control over hitting your goal for several reasons: 1) many of these programs are highly selective, so most of the students you "counsel" don't have the remotest chance of getting admitted (of course, you are not allowed to tell them this, or in any way provide meaningful guidance. No, you have to waste their time and yours by harassing them over phone and email until their doomed application is completed and instantaneously rejected). 2) the students you're working with are, y'know, human beings with free will, so even if they do have a chance of getting admitted, they might not want to apply for that particular cohort. 3) 2U programs are godawful expensive. For many programs, 2U also has multiple offerings for the same discipline, so ACs working for the more expensive option are often out of luck if a student is admitted to a cheaper competing program. Kinda hard to convince someone to take out 40k more in loans than they have to. You will be tacitly encouraged to manipulate students into taking on more debt just to meet your goal. They want you to do everything just shy of outright lying. Admissions is a breeding ground for exaggerated claims, half-truths, and lies by omission. In short, you will be kicking water uphill every day in this role, trying to meet laughably unrealistic targets made by leadership. That's not even to touch on the sham "Core Values" 2U shoves down your throat. They literally have these values in neon tube lights on the walls in HQ. Now, of course every company has their own brand of BS, but 2U is insane about theirs. It is cult-like. People use the phrase “drink the Kool-Aid” unironically. Maybe it’s just me, but using the language of a mass suicide in a positive sense...doesn’t exactly sit right. Anyway, here are my thoughts on the core values. 1) ”Cherish every opportunity"--so long as you make 75 calls every day, annoying the heck out of people who just wanted a brochure about the program! Also, if someone has a low GPA or GRE scores and cannot help you meet your goal, that is not an opportunity, so don’t cherish it. This would be an accurate value if it said, "Cherish every opportunity that can make the company money. Forget everything else." 2) ”Be candid, honest, and open" —Honestly, for this one I might as well just post the précis of the pending lawsuit against this company: “[2U] throughout the Class Period made false and/or misleading statements and/or failed to disclose that: (1) the Company faced increasing competition in online education and particularly regarding graduate programs; (2) the Company faced certain program-specific issues that negatively impacted its performance; (3) as a result, the Company’s business model was not sustainable; (4) the Company would slow its program launches; and (5) as a result, 2U’s public statements were materially false and misleading at all relevant times. When the true details entered the market, the lawsuit claims that investors suffered damages.” 2U also doesn’t want you being “candid honest and open” with the students. Generally speaking, none of these students even know 2U exists, let alone that it gets a large chunk of their tuition money. You are lying by omission on every phone call, every time you send an email from your university email address. Students assume you are directly tied to the actual campus of the program you represent, because 2U spoofs the phone numbers, so every AC calling from say, Maryland, has an area code local to the school they are representing. Here's another hilarious thing: in September 2019, after mass firing 67 tenured employees and, again GETTING SUED BY ITS INVESTORS, 2U put out a "Framework for Transparency," which asserts, "2U has always publicly listed the degree and non-degree offerings we power," which, while technically true, is exactly the sort of PR/optics sophistry you should expect from this company. Yes, they list their university partners on their website. But at no point in an AC's correspondence with a prospective student is the name 2U ever brought up. Students would have to already know what an OPM is, and what 2U is for this "transparency" to actually do anything. As it stands, this Framework for Transparency looks to me like just another PR maneuver designed to give 2U rhetorical wiggle room to claim they’re being forthcoming while actually being the opposite. 3) ”Give a Damn!” -- but not about all those poor schmucks with low GPAs who can't help you meet your goal. 4) “Relationships matter!” - remember where I said above they mass fired 67 employees one day? Yeah, they gave these people no notice-- people who had been with the company for years, had helped build the business, and had bought into all of 2U's pompous, self-aggrandizing rhetoric about how they are "changing the world!" True believers, hard workers, in other words, fired en masse with no notice. These unfortunate individuals were literally called into an auditorium, let go, and informed “You’re welcome to work for the rest of the day if you want!” 5) “Don’t let the skeptic win!” — by which they mean don’t question anything or think for yourself, peon! Drink the Kool-Aid! DRINK IT I SAID! SHUT UP AND DRINK IT!!! HAVE YOU MADE YOUR DIALS FOR THE DAY YET?! 6) “Be bold and fearless” — I guess it was pretty bold and fearless to abruptly and callously fire a significant chunk of their loyal workforce, so kudos to 2U on this one. And it was pretty brazen to lie to their investors too. So, all right, I've give them this one. 7) “Make service your mission” — in other words, do good volunteer work and take pictures wearing 2U swag so we can take credit and get those sweet sweet PR social justice brownie points. 2U spends a lot of money promoting itself, getting named as a Great Workplace in magazines, maintaining this veneer that they are an ethical, socially conscious organization, when in reality, like most other companies, business is the first priority. Ethics and social consciousness are a very, VERY distant second. Actually, probably more like a very distant tenth or eleventh. This wouldn't even be annoying if they were just honest about it. I get it. A company exists and makes decisions solely to grow its business. So why does 2U seem to demand that its employees pretend otherwise? 8) “Have fun!” -- you know the phrase “bread and circuses?” It means to generate public approval, not by excellence in public service or public policy but by diversion, distraction, or by satisfying the most immediate or base requirements of a populace— by offering a palliative: for example, food (bread) or entertainment (circuses). Thanks Wikipedia. Yeah, that is 2U’s main operating strategy. They do all these extravagant events, e.g. random dance parties in HQ, renting out Six Flags for Halloween, or flying everyone to some destination once a year for company meeting. Superficially these are nice, until you remember that these events are bonkers expensive, and that 2U will then lay off 67 people at a moment’s notice due to monetary concerns. I feel reasonably safe in saying those employees would rather have kept their jobs than gotten to see Flo-Rida live in concert. Moreover, the events, particularly company meeting, are basically thinly veiled attempts at brainwashing, stoking the CEO's messiah complex. They give a lot of ra-ra, gosh-aren’t-we-awesome speeches and make you stand in an auditorium chanting company slogans (again, DRINK THE KOOL-AID, SERF). They get great performers and speakers—Michelle Obama in 2018, for example—who lend specious legitimacy to 2U’s alleged mission and values, but are probably told nothing about the company beyond its claims of being "an innovative tech start up increasing accessibility in higher ed." 9) “Strive for excellence!” — in other words, light yourself on fire daily to keep the higher-ups warm. Break your back to carry the company. In short, this company is an object lesson in disingenuous corporate doublespeak, bad faith business practices, and dogmatic, cultish conformity. Their core values are a bad joke, and if you are an independent thinker at all, you will not like it here. Also, for the record, I was not fired. I left of my own accord before all the firings and lawsuits started. This is not some disgruntled, terminated ex-employee sounding off. This is just an honest appraisal of how 2U does business from my perspective. Work here at your own peril.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Honestly I don't know. Fire yourselves? Anything short of that is pretty much just rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic at this point. This ship is going down. For-profit companies and higher education should not mix. It creates an unholy symbiosis, and if I had to guess I would say some sort of regulatory change will make 2U's business model not just unsustainable but illegal in the next 5-10 years. This sort of... boom and bust happens over and over whenever a new market niche comes up around higher ed. Sure, maybe you have made education more accessible in that students don't have to relocate to get a master's degree, but you have not made tuition any cheaper, and in fact you're a contributing factor in education getting more and more expensive. It's not your fault alone, it's obviously a complicated issue, but a business like yours is inherently exploitative, and when the choice is between company wellbeing or student wellbeing, 2U will always choose itself. It will screw over anyone and everyone--students, university partners, investors, employees--that it has to to stay solvent. That is the nature of the business. Higher tuition benefits 2U, and in the long run, 2U is hurting accessibility in education. I guess if I had any advice for management I would say to look at your business and ask if it really still aligns with the values you have in your heart. I think time, market forces, chance, and certain shortsighted decisions turned 2U from what it was when it started--a naive but sincere attempt to make education more accessible--into this present corporate leviathan that I have to imagine, on some level, horrifies even its creators, if they're honest with themselves. Because I don't think everyone running this company is a bad person, I just think they got led astray by dollar signs, and everyone else is going to be left picking up the pieces. Just my two cents.

    Dérouler
    2U2019-09-12
486 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer