Avis sur Altia Central | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Altia Central

Mis à jour le Oct 14, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

44 avis trouvés

3.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
71%
Recommandent à un ami
  1. Utile (8)

    « AET »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    AET à Toyota, Aichi
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à

    Avantages

    In an industry that is categorized as borderline criminal towards its employees, Altia is the only company worth working for. They are generally fair with their contracts (minus the 60 day notice when quitting), and they abide by the contracts and don't try to hose you over. They will also sponsor your initial visa, but you're responsible for all the legwork when it comes to renewing, and they will also get you set... up with an apartment and a beater car to drive around until you can get yourself something better. They pay your commuting expenses, something they are legally required to do but other similar companies find creative ways to dodge, and they also don't dock your pay if you're sick (up to a point). They also are much better prepared in terms or resources and the like, and if you have questions, they are usually pretty quick to get back to you. A previous company in a similar industry was never there when I needed them, had no resources to share, and told me from the get-go I was on my own. Altia backs you up, gets you what you need, and does a pretty good job.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    You're still an AET. You are subservient to the Japanese teachers, you will never be right, and no matter how long you have been a teacher (even if you are licensed, been teaching longer, etc) you are the backburner and your ideas are always lower quality than anything the Japanese teachers come up with. You are also contracted, and you have no raises, upward mobility, or guaranteed employment the next year. You... have to follow all of their rules to the letter, or they are all over you. Your school placements can change every year, so if you have a house close to where you work, the next year you can end up having an hour commute while someone from your company works the schools next to your house. There is absolutely no future in this job: it's something to do for ONE year to see Japan, and then you need to leave.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    You guys know what you're doing, and you're doing the best you can in a not so good industry. I think you do really care about what you do, which is much better than most companies, and I appreciated that. Keep fighting the good fight, and don't turn into the tons of other companies that take advantage of people wanting to work in Japan.

    Altia Central2015-06-14
  2. Utile (6)

    « Teaching English in the land of the rising sun. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Alternate Language Teacher à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Altia Central provides training and teaching materials as part of a week-long intensive training session. The Altia Central staff is helpful and supportive of their ALTs. Altia Central provides its ALTs with more than enough media and flashcards to assist with lesson planning, and entertaining a classroom of middle school or elementary school students.

    Inconvénients

    Altia Central has an obligation to send you to a location based on the needs of the various boards or education in central Japan, so some rural positions are quite unappealing. Vehicles are not provided for some rural positions

    Conseils à la direction

    My advice to the management would be to spend more time assisting ALTs in rural places where public transportation is less reliable.

    Altia Central2015-04-27
  3. Utile (5)

    « A Good First Experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Assistant Language Teacher 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Altia Central à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The people at Altia definitely know what they're doing. Training was thorough (almost too much so), and the amount of materials and support given was surprising to me. I thought I'd be coming to Japan and thrown into a classroom with little more than a "Good luck!" Training gave me some ideas of what to expect--even if all of my expectations didn't come to fruition once I was at my actual schools (more on that... below). I'd say the best pro of Altia is the community sort of feel you have with your co-workers and supervisors. The supervisors I've interacted with are always helpful and nice, and always willing to do what they can to smooth over any sort of situation that arises. Training, in my case, was a large group of people of similar backgrounds. We all bonded well and those of us who remained made a nice little niche for ourselves. People move on or go home, but even still making the contacts is always nice. The pay isn't amazing, but it's enough to live on and save if you use your money wisely each month. I was provided with a company car and apartment (though I've since moved into my own apartment). The process and support with that--including getting a license here--was great. I'd say that Altia genuinely cares about its employees and the schools it has contracts with--though, sometimes, the schools come before the employees. A generous amount of time off over winter, spring, and summer vacations.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    This largely depends on the school, but your schools can be boring and completely opposite of what you expect. As I said above, training is great in that it gets you fired up and excited to make a difference. If you're going to junior high, you'll quickly find that you aren't as much of a "teacher" as you are a "reader" or, as the term goes, "tape recorder". Again, it depends on the school, but from stories I've... heard, schools can either really welcome and value their ALTs, or not care about them so much. The ALT position requires a lot of flexibility and patience. If you are expecting to be this life-changing, game-changing, Japan-changing teacher--think again. That's not what you'll be, and that's not what the schools want you to be. No yearly bonuses or pay increases. Somewhat strict/overbearing on taking personal days. There's a lot of pressure to report everything you do to Altia; to not speak directly to the teachers about problems, but to report them to Altia for Altia to figure it out. While I understand their reasoning, especially for ALTs who aren't strong in Japanese, I also think putting Altia (who, as an entity, isn't there in the teacher's room, and doesn't have a personality or know the personalities of other teachers) as a middle man only complicates things more than they need to be complicated in certain situations. There's also a lot of "The schools don't like this, so don't do it!" talks and warnings, when in my experience the schools really don't care.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Talking level rather than down helps build trust and respect all around. Give employees/trainees a better idea of what to expect at some schools--down time, crazy teachers, problem kids, etc.

    Altia Central2015-01-08
  4. Utile (6)

    « Great company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Assistant Language Teacher 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Incredibly supportive - doctor's appointments can be arranged easily (which for Japan is not always easy). My supervisor called to check on my regularly, and when I was having a difficult time was genuinely interested in helping me get back on my feet. Professional development is taken seriously and the company tried its best to keep me comfortable. Pay and reimbursements are on time - each position is different,... but I had 12 full months of pay, no deductions at all for summer, winter, or spring holidays, plus a small annual bonus. Great proprietary materials, and a management who care about teaching English, not about simply scoring big contracts. 10 weeks fully paid holiday a year and an honest, supportive company - I could not have asked for more. Oh, and they leased me a car to get to work for cheap!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Nothing that isn't typical of the industry (e.g. at any ALT company salary will not go up, promotions are few and far between, time off during the school year is nearly impossible).

    Conseils à la direction

    Altia has great supervisors and staff. Keep giving them the support they need to support the ALTs and I am positive your contracts and areas will keep expanding.

    Altia Central2014-10-07
  5. Utile (4)

    « Not bad, probably the best ALT job in Japan »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Native English Teacher à Hatsukaichi
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    I enjoyed the environment and felt connected with my supervisor. I like teaching, and didn't find the workload too heavy.

    Inconvénients

    The occasional weekend training summits were useless, and the pay was low. Benefits were nonexistant and I wasn't offered any kind of raise for my second year. Enjoy being treated like the lowest of the low, but that comes with most ALT positions.

    Conseils à la direction

    Need more incentives and benefits to stay with the company.

    Altia Central2014-07-31
  6. Utile (9)

    « Great ALT company for those new to Japan, with dodgy policies that hurt long-term prospects »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - ALT à Gifu-shi
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    Je travaille chez Altia Central à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    There's a great training structure in place. There's some pretty in-depth teaching of how to actually be an ALT, which other competing companies and programmes lack dearly. Holidays are in line with the school year (Summer/Winter/Spring breaks), so there's plenty of time off throughout the year. Management generally stays out of your way and lets you do your job. I get the impression there's a level if... ignorance that happens - the company is required to do certain things to say they've done them, then those policies are ignored in favour of what the individual Boards of Education or Schools want. Paid travel expenses.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The company treats employees like children, and after a while it's a painful experience. A lot of ALTs are not allowed to drive simply because they are foreigners, despite this being completely illegal. Holidays are fixed to the school year. In reality this isn't something that should be complained about in a School/Educational setting, but it's worth noting. There's an odd discrepancy between what the... schools/BOEs think the ALT is paid and what the ALTs are actually paid. You're expected to work to the standard of a much higher salary than you are actually paid. Communication is appallingly sparse. Information is given with a monthly irrelevant newsletter that provides no real information other than basic common sense, and paperwork is often neglected. Important documents are often not followed up upon, and the administration doesn't seem to understand basic tax legislation - or, worse, is taking advantage of those not in the know. There's zero career opportunity. The contract is non-negotiable, and I feel if I was to try and negotiate it I'd lose the job.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Fix the underhand practices to avoid legal battles. I've consulted with lawyers and labour standards with advice to take things further, but it's realistically not worth it for such a low salary. You, as a company, do have a fantastic training program and provide a good opportunity to young newcomers to Japan but it's executed wrongly. Increase the pay, increase the quality of ALT and you could make a difference... - as it stands, you offer a marginal allowance and expect the world's best teachers, with absolutely zero career prospects or ability to talk things further.

    Dérouler
    Altia Central2014-03-13
  7. Utile (3)

    « Offering great support for aspiring language teachers. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Assistant Language Teacher 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Altia Central à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    +Give you ample training and support +Raises based on longevity and merit +Allowed the freedom to teach how you wish

    Inconvénients

    -Teaching salary caps out fairly low

    Conseils à la direction

    Try to do more to support those in unfortunate/dangerous school placings.

    Altia Central2014-02-18
  8. Utile (10)

    « One of the best companies in a dodgy job field »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein

    Avantages

    -Pay on time -Paperwork is processed promptly -Nice in-house resources for lessons -Easy job -Long holidays -If you lower your expectations and accept the McJob nature of ALT work, this is not a horrible way to make a living.

    Inconvénients

    -Supervisers will often ignore emails with awkward questions. I worked at a junior high school and we had an outbreak of violence among the kids. I contacted my superviser to inform her and got zero reply. You're on your own. -The Japanese teachers are always right and the foreigner is always wrong. AC is a business and they want to keep clients happy. ALTs are a dime a dozen and...

    Conseils à la direction

    Hard to say, as these ALT companies are simply responding to the school boards' decisions to cut corners left and right and investment in foreign language teachers is a good example.

    Altia Central2013-09-26
  9. Utile (5)

    « One of the better ALT companies in Japan. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Assistant Language Teacher à Kōnan

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Reasonable starting salary compared to other ALT companies Transportation support in the form of company car usage Teaching support is good with lots of in house teaching materials

    Inconvénients

    Recently decreasing compensation for long term teachers Inelgible for bonus payment in the case of early retirement before contract ends Placement in major cities doesn't come with a higher salary despite higher cost of living

    Altia Central2013-09-18
  10. « Good Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - ALT 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Altia Central à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    They were very organized in terms of finding housing, meeting me at Tokyo airport, and getting a hotel for several days before moving to my town. Very good support overall throughout my time in Japan.

    Inconvénients

    Not too much I can think of.

    Altia Central2013-05-22
44 avis trouvés