Avis sur AvalonBay Communities | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur AvalonBay Communities

Dernière mise à jour : 2 août 2018
434 avis

Filtrer

Filtrer

Contrat PermanentTemps Partiel

4,1
StarStarStarStarStar
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
Recom­mandent
Approuvent du PDG
AvalonBay Communities President and CEO Timothy J. Naughton
Timothy J. Naughton
279 Évaluations

434 Avis des employés

Trier: PopulairesÉvaluationDate

  1. « Amazing Place to work »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Receptionist - Irvine, CA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Receptionist - Irvine, CA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez AvalonBay Communities à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    The pay, the benefits, the people that work here, totally Amazing

    Inconvénients

    There are none for me, other than the Traffic going home. But that is not AvalonBay's fault.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what your doing

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    7 août 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for writing this glowing review! I am glad you enjoy working here.


  2. « The best place to work »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Community Concierge - Long Island City, NY (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Community Concierge - Long Island City, NY (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez AvalonBay Communities à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    Good benefits , awesome people , friendly environment

    Inconvénients

    all are pros , nothing cons

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    7 août 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to write a review!

  3. « Senior Estimator/Preconstruction Manager »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez AvalonBay Communities en Contrat Permanent

    Avantages

    Solid company, decent communications, good pipeline of work, good compensation.

    Inconvénients

    Large company, was there during a major transition period where the road ahead wasn’t well communicated.

    Conseils à la direction

    When making major changes, communicating the path forward will help employees know if that path is right for them.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    7 août 2018 – Human Resources

    We value your feedback and are always looking for ways to grow and change. Thanks for the review!


  4. Utile (2)

    « Great company to kick-start a professional career! »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Community Consultant - Bellevue, WA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Community Consultant - Bellevue, WA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez AvalonBay Communities à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    Generous company-paid lunches: Management team gets company credit cards and loves to feed us! Some weeks I hardly spend anything on food because there is always food in the break-room. Vendors often drop by with treats as well.

    Benefits package: I have never been disappointed with coverage from Blue Cross/Blue Shield. So far so good. Most employees accrue a day or two of sick time and vacation time per pay period. Paid holidays and compensation days provided.

    Spirit of caring: The only company I’ve worked for that truly does care. Plenty of food drives, collaboration with Hopelink, volunteer opportunities with pay, blood drives, pet adoption events, etc.

    Open-minded to individuals wanting industry change: For the most part management is willing to listen to where you are coming from and where you want to go. They are genuinely interested in exploring new ideas from outside experience/different backgrounds.

    Less political problems than other companies: Most of the management teams are easy-going and avoid drama. You don’t hear a lot of work gossip, at least at my property/region.

    Ever-evolving: Constant changes to pay structure and operations based on both consumer and employee feedback. You can tell the company wants to improve.

    Takes employees’ ideas into consideration: Quarterly employee surveys to gauge interest and concerns.

    Inconvénients

    Promote based on tenure rather than skill: The good thing is that you have job security as a result. On the contrary, many members of management seem disengaged or bored because they have not experienced growth in so many years. They do not have to constantly prove themselves as assets to a team, but instead become shoe-ins for positions regardless of talent or knowledge.

    Awful awful awful residents: There are a handful of kind, genuine residents. The rest are entitled, rude, talk down to you, and will find reasons to threaten you. I have been called a number of profanities and been yelled at by residents and we as employees are expected to simply say “I understand where you are coming from” and apologize. Back up your employees if you care about them. Establish standards with residents instead of enabling them to continue the same behavior. Turnover on site is mostly based on inability to take insults and threats day in and day out by our clientele.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    7 août 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for you time and dedication put into your role here at AVB! We appreciate your constructive feedback. If you have any additional concerns, please reach out to your HR Manager.


  5. Utile (1)

    « Danger »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Collections Specialist - Virginia Beach, VA (États-Unis)
    Ancien employé - Collections Specialist - Virginia Beach, VA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez AvalonBay Communities (Pendant plus de 3 ans)

    Avantages

    Very nice people/management overall. Welcoming.

    Inconvénients

    They allow a racist to remain on the QA staff

    Conseils à la direction

    She is a liability


  6. « Great Experience »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme

    Je travaille chez AvalonBay Communities à temps partiel

    Avantages

    You earn a lot in little time, which is great. I had amazing coworkers that made work definitely better as well as the amazing residents.

    Inconvénients

    I did not like the major gap between management and non management
    I did not enjoy the hours on weekends

    Conseils à la direction

    My advice would be is be more considerate to other employees and reach out when help is needed. Esentially value non management employees.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    12 juil. 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your honesty and constructive feedback. We appreciate you providing specifics and a solution to your concern. We are committed to making an environment where our associates are noticed... Voir plus


  7. « Honestly A Wonderful Company to Work For »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Leasing Consultant
    Employé actuel - Leasing Consultant
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez AvalonBay Communities à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    There is ongoing training and plenty of opportunities to take on additional duties once you get the hang of your job. The company has a lot of different properties and openings so that you can transfer to a different site or even to the corporate office.

    People here are very friendly and open to hear suggestions and ideas on how to continuously improve. It's not uncommon to meet people who have been working for AvalonBay for 20+ years.

    Inconvénients

    Sometimes it gets tiring working Saturdays but that is just the nature of the beast. Don't let that discourage you from working here.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    12 juil. 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve.

  8. Utile (1)

    « Great Place to Work. Sorry I left. »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme - Arlington, VA (États-Unis)
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme - Arlington, VA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez AvalonBay Communities en Contrat Permanent (Pendant plus de 5 ans)

    Avantages

    The culture and people were second to none.

    Inconvénients

    Lack of advancement opportunities and little commitment to associate development.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    12 juil. 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for our review. We are so glad you love the culture as much as we do!


  9. « Very disappointed »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme - New York, NY (États-Unis)
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme - New York, NY (États-Unis)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez AvalonBay Communities en Contrat Permanent (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    Very organized processes and policies. Lots of company sponsored lunches known affectionately as associate appreciation. If you want to learn how to spin and fake it until you make it this would be a great place to start out. Tons of google and glass door reviews for you to read through if you're looking to get some direction on if it's worth it or not. This goes for residents and employees.

    Inconvénients

    Nepotism is like a widespread disease there.
    No support from management it's an every man for himself kind of environment.
    Bonus/commissions system is designed to get the maximum amount of work/production out of you for the least amount of money. They set lofty and often times blatantly unattainable goals and act surprised when employees don't achieve them and subsequently don't get paid commissions or bonuses. This includes both the management and maintenance sides of the business. This is seen in areas such as NPS scores, leasing/renewal bonuses/Mid Lease surveys/ORM goals etc.
    If you enjoy being treated like a product, commodity, or an easily expendable asset of low value this is the place for you.
    Policy is king here but only where it serves someone's agenda, usually someone in management.
    There is NO accountability so more tenured employees get away with murder because they know they can.
    They will teach you to "act like an owner" and be "autonomous" however every time you do your decisions or actions will be called into question.
    Too many chiefs and not enough Indians to put it simply.
    If a resident has an issue with a rule/policy/fee all they have to do is threaten to contact the media or an attorney and Avalon will give them whatever they desire so good luck enforcing anything that is contested.
    They collect top dollar in rents, nickel and dime the extra fees and have astronomical rent increases. Try having conversation after conversation explaining to residents that they have a 15/18/20/25/30% rent increase for their same old apartment which hasn't all of a sudden learned a new trick and morphed into the Ritz Carlton.
    They build with the CHEAPEST materials they can find from china and the like and do not care about the quality provided to residents. Read some resident google reviews and notice a common thread about high rent increases, noise complaints, move out charges, cheap, looks good at first, not worth the money, buyer beware etc.
    They will quickly try to cover up any discrepancies or mistakes and routinely mislead residents or falsify information to avoid exposure such as issues with bugs, smoking, noise, "mildew or discoloration" aka MOLD. That's just a glimpse into some of the fun things you will enjoy with your belly full of "associate appreciation" aka "free food". Keep in mind Avalon Bay is a top real estate investment trust or REIT and they can afford it but it's a tax write off just like that 20% associate housing discount. They are raking in $2-5 billion annually according to Glassdoor and their premier "Pro" amongst a hefty list of Cons if you read the other reviews is "good food". What I will say is that if you are looking to build your resume this would be a great pit stop as it is a brand name. Like most brand names there is a certain level of buyer ignorance that goes hand and hand with brand recognition. Many places will hire you simply from seeing the Avalon name on your resume because Avalon Bay has an expert marketing department which knows that image is everything so they make sure everyone at the company is drinking the Koolaid so to speak. If you don't drink up then you don't last. If you last you recruit others to drink the koolaid too. Rinse and repeat. Fold in some act responsibly Spirit of caring code of ethics propaganda and there you have it. As someone else said in a previous review to describe the experience perfectly...STEP RIGHT UP AND JOIN THE CIRCUS! Good luck

    Conseils à la direction

    Do better. Try harder. Treat people in a way that would make your grandmother proud. Money and image isn't everything.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    7 août 2018 – Human Resources

    We value your feedback and we're sorry to hear you didn't have a positive experience while at AVB. Your input will help us to grow and address any concerns our associates may have. Thank you for... Voir plus


  10. Utile (2)

    « Maintenance Supervisor »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Maintenance Supervisor
    Ancien employé - Maintenance Supervisor
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez AvalonBay Communities en Contrat Permanent (Pendant plus de 3 ans)

    Avantages

    Opens doors for promotions and growth. Good compensation. Good benefits. Customer service focused.

    Inconvénients

    Depending on the higher ups, not much help if you are low staffed such as your team being fired or on vacation, there isn’t much back up. No floating team. Very low annual raises.

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire at least a couple people in the surrounding properties some extra technicians or leasing agents, etc so there can be coverage help at all times. The better you work as an employee, the more they demand from you. Yes, one can manage the entire workload by themselves, but they get burnt out after doing it for 3+ months with no solid help.

    Réponse de AvalonBay Communities

    12 juil. 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and we will continue to work on improving our associate's experiences.


Affichage 434 de 452 avis
Réinitialiser les filtres