Avis sur Bungie | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Bungie

Mis à jour le 11 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

4.0
73%
Recommandent à un ami
96%
Approuvent le PDG
Bungie CEO Pete Parsons (no image)
Pete Parsons
28 évaluations
  1. « Excellent culture with career growth in mind »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Software Development Engineer In Test 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Benefits, events, community, career growth opportunity

    Inconvénients

    Still working on diversity

    Bungie2019-11-11
  2. « Lead »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Amazing company to work for. People, benefits, games, community.

    Inconvénients

    Production environment is still challenging.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you are doing. It’s working.

    Bungie2019-08-23
  3. Utile (3)

    « Damn Good Company to Work at. (2009 - Now) »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Systems Engineer à Bellevue, WA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    There are many pros to working at Bungie. 1. Fantastic people. 2. The culture, it's one that you just don't find at any other company in the game industry. 3. Your co-workers are constantly friendly towards you, they are willing to help with anything. 4. 5. Dave Samuel

    Inconvénients

    There are however a few cons that come with working here. 1. Management, management, management. 2. Upper people will comstantly check on you to see if you are satisfied with your working conditions or work/life balance, although they aren't really willing to do anything about it. 3. The work/life balance can be awful at times depending where the current development of the game is currently at.

    Conseils à la direction

    Be more open-minded, I've seen many co-workers be laid off for some pretty dumb reasons.

    Bungie2019-06-26
  4. Utile (9)

    « Bungie Values »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Content Creator à Bellevue, WA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Pete Parsons is a really nice dude. Bungie at its core is still an amazing and creative place to be. Jason Jones is also a cool guy and easy to talk to. The culture that Bungie works hard to have is one where game development and life-balance go hand-in-hand...but

    Inconvénients

    Not everyone supports the "Bungie Core-Values" and it's most evident in their Marketing Department also known as VizD. Teams are stronger than heroes Player experience first Strong ideas loosely held Closing is an everyday practice Widen your perspective Keep it fun Put a dent in the universe The VizD Marketing Department is very well known throughout the studio as being the hardest... department to work for. Mostly due to its management or lack of. People are expected to work late hours with little-to-no notice, they work through lunch every day, weekends, through holidays, with no leadership, no communication and no direction on projects. You like those ViDoc’s on YouTube? That’s great because the team that makes them is slowly dying. Yes it's a job and yes it's a competitive industry however it's not the “Bungie” way…or is it? In fact I would go so far to say that the Marketing for Bungie which is now 100% Bungie is more like that of Activision and less like Bungie. There is very little regard to showing people they are of value or are creatively part of the process. The Management for VizD is the most awful I've ever experienced. People treat each-other like garbage and it comes from the top down. It is acceptable and tolerated. Three of the past senior artists were fired for various "reasons" and several others were placed on pips or “Performance Improvement Plans” however they’re some of the most productive and positive people on the team. Bungie HR is either completely clueless or completely incompetent and no help what-so-ever. There is no support for this team. Several members of the team have been with VizD for years, yet they’re still not considered FTE and thus have no medical or dental insurance, they pay for their own parking and walk to work in the rain or snow. Vendors/Contractors are strung out for years with the hopes of being hired full-time. During that time they work long hours and receive none of the “Perks” or benefits that the Bungie employees receive. No one speaks up on the VizD Team as they’ve seen so many people come and go and they fear reprisals from management. As much as I love what Bungie says it stands for – I’ve sadly only seen them watch quietly as peoples lives are destroyed.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Clean house.

    Bungie2019-07-16
  5. Utile (3)

    « Excellent Game Studio »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Bungie offers outstanding benefits, and competitive salaries. Team health is very important, and Bungie strives to create a welcoming environment for all of its employees.

    Inconvénients

    The open-floor format may feel somewhat crowded in the main studio, however, everyone is very considerate of their neighbors working nearby.

    Bungie2019-03-19
  6. « Great place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - IT Support Engineer à Bellevue, WA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bungie à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Challenging, wear different hats,fun atmosphere

    Inconvénients

    Long hours. Crunch time can tedious

    Bungie2019-01-16
  7. Utile (5)

    « Passionate Team with Management Doing Their Best »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein

    Avantages

    - Many passionate people who want to make great games - Management is not in an ivory tower, and they really care about the game because they play it - Good benefits

    Inconvénients

    - Some technical struggles with tools - Large team that has individuals who disagree with good reasons on the direction of the game, which can happen when everyone is passionate but the team is so large. This leads to people feeling like they're not listened to.

    Conseils à la direction

    - Continue to trust the team and let them drive the direction of the game - Continue to invest in tools and workflow solutions - Admit mistakes internally and ask the team to help drive solutions; don't try to fix it all yourself

    Bungie2018-07-03
  8. Utile (4)

    « Best place I've ever worked for »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Bellevue, WA
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Best culture I've ever seen. Caring people managers and career development. Transparent and accessible company leadership. You're working on AAA franchises.

    Inconvénients

    The company has outstanding creative leadership, but I'm not confident in their ability to run a business.

    Conseils à la direction

    Might be time to bring in some outside expertise from some major game companies on the business side.

    Bungie2018-05-19
  9. Utile (15)

    « Passion lead by poor Management. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Human Resources Manager à Bellevue, WA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bungie à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Working at Bungie was like no other studio, all employees were built as a family and not as a typical workplace. Tension between employees was often rare and many employees often we happy of current positions and often shared a high morale for what they were currently working on. Due to being employed as a Human Resource Manager I had very little focus on the "Destiny" franchise, I focused on making sure... employees were focused in their respected areas of work and ensuring the continuation of the standard high morale many employees strive themselves on. I worked with a small team (most of the time 2 other managers) who would manage employees. To maintain this high morale of employees, management allowed for small incentives for employees, these included coffee bars, workplace activities, bonuses and health care plans. Job security was almost guaranteed if you did what was required of you. Although there was little promotion of employees. Often many would stay in a role for 3-5 years with increasing yearly salaries. We used a small rung system to determine an employees salary based on how many years had been contributed to the current role the employee was in. Although confusing at times many employees enjoyed this structure as they knew when a rise in salary was in the near future and how much the increase in salary was.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Although management aloud HR to make small incentives such as health plans and coffee bars for employees. Often when things needing shifting or something was not working between employees that HR could see was having a negative impact and downfall on the productivity of employees senior management would not allow for this change to happen and would over rule. Yes, naturally no one likes change but when it was... drastically needed, making no change at all lead to further problems down the line of production. Once full production of the "Destiny" franchise started in 2010, many employees has already or begun to exit the studio to continue work on the "Halo" franchise. We decreased from about 250 employees to roughly 175. As production carried on, in HR we spend roughly a year bringing in new talent to work on "Destiny" and slowly integrate these new employees as part of already existing groups in production. Once 2011 had rolled around the studio was at roughly 400 employees. Management had set a goal to have an employee base of around 350-450. Although we in HR quickly learnt the studio expanded and grew in size to quickly. This resulted in a loss of the high standards we had built and the "Bungie culture" started to go. This lead to a somewhat rupture within the employee base that HR slowly needed to go though and fix, due to this production was drastically hindered. During this time senior management were persistent on no change whatsoever. Senior Management. Although I had been friends with many of them for years during my time at Bungie, it was clear the lack of managerial skills. Some of senior management was excellent but while many lacked behind resulting in many times a clash of senior management while employees would watch on. In late 2015 this came to clash of heads as of then current studio president Harold Ryan was pushing and overruling other senior management to have the "Destiny" sequel released in 2016 although many in the studio knew it was not possible to do. Due to this Harold Ryan was stood down and Pete Parsons was going to be taking his place. A major wrap to Pete Parsons was his ability to bring back the "Bungie Culture" and this drastically showed within the studio.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Its time to clean house. Senior management are running off old habits and old outlooks towards production. HR needs to be given the ability to make the major changes needed. The studio needs a big reshuffle of its management to make this happen.

    Bungie2018-03-24
  10. Utile (14)

    « bloated monstrosity »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Test Engineer à Bellevue, WA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bungie à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Regardless of what you think of Destiny as a game, Bungie is still a AAA studio making AAA games.

    Inconvénients

    As evident from the polarizing reviews on Glassdoor, you can see that some employees have a great laid back experience where they actively progress their careers and experience personal fulfillment and rewarding production. Then you see those about people who work 60 hour weeks+weekends, in constant chaos with no upward movement and are managed poorly. Both of these worlds exist at Bungie. Since Destiny 1... launched this company has only ever grown in size to the beast it is today. There were never rounds of layoffs other than temps to cut the fat. As a result there are a lot of people simply taking up space. Employees who have been here for years were advanced a level without any major effort to hire a new wave of fresh blood to replace the vacancies. We end up with people in Lead positions in charge of a team of 0 or 1. Other critical teams are dismantled and the knowledge base is disbanded until a massive issue crops up and we have to scramble to find someone who remembers how any of that system works. During 1 on 1's we are encouraged to report our happiness level to management. My happiness level has been a constant level of 4 out of 10. Some days it's worse. We report this happiness level to our manager and our manager's manager. They know how happy or unhappy we are. No effort is made into increasing that happiness. They'll ask us what will it take to get you a few points higher and then nothing. Management acknowledges that some teams are orange or red in terms of team morale. These got out as team slides, areas that are at risk, they're listening to our feedback but on a micro level nothing changes. If you think the communication to the playerbase is rough sometimes we won't find out about game changing features until we read about it on reddit. A lot of, we said what? so many people at the company fill roles that fail the bus test (if they get hit by a bus, can someone do their job, to which the answer is no). no effort is made to train or disperse knowledge to others. There are at least two dozen people at the studio who are the only person that knows how something works and if they left the company development would grind to a halt. Players are already seeing that in the live game where these key people are stretched thin.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    cut the fat actually embrace agile and get rid of the people who are hindering the culture that you claim you're promoting. in the book Good to Great, which everyone on the Leadership team harps about, there's a chapter about getting the right people in the right seats and then letting people get off the bus if they're not a good fit. right now this bus is packed to the brim and no one wants to move seats for the... good of the company. practice what you're preaching.

    Dérouler
    Bungie2018-03-03
46 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer