Avis sur Carbine Studios | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Carbine Studios

Mis à jour le 19 sept. 2016

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.7
33%
Recommandent à un ami
56%
Approuvent le PDG
Carbine Studios CEO Chauncey Gammage
Chauncey Gammage
4 évaluations
  1. Utile (3)

    « New Ideas needed »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Great group of people who work at Carbine. The art for the game is really good. The environment is friendly

    Inconvénients

    They spent a lot of time and money making a game like World of Warcraft- but it took so long to create that there really was not the market for it. They need a new approach and new vision to get the company back on track.

    Conseils à la direction

    try some other types of games and products. Maybe start going into a newer field, like VR gaming or other innovative ideas.

    Carbine Studios2016-09-19
  2. Utile (3)

    « Carbine Review »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    QA Tester à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à

    Avantages

    A great work environment with a great team. Great benefits package this may have changed since I left. Very friendly teams with great attitudes.

    Inconvénients

    Internal politics may keep you from moving out of QA. Former HR lead was combative when faced with issues dealing with company politics.

    Conseils à la direction

    I wish I had advice for the management, but since I'm no longer there I wouldn't know where to begin.

    Carbine Studios2016-06-12
  3. Utile (4)

    « Fine studio, hard genre, broken industry »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Artist à Lake Forest, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great people, no insane pressure to put in long hours. Open to ideas and not stifling to creativity.

    Inconvénients

    There was nowhere to go. There often isn't, in this industry. Veterans know this well. Wildstar had every chance to succeed. Everyone wants to blame someone or something: "the CEO!", "nobody listens!", "bad morale!". It was none of those things. At the end of the day the market just wasn't there. The fact is, it was a great team, and Chauncey (head honcho) did the best he could with a terrible situation. Many saw... him as the "bad guy" because the first round of layoffs happened soon after he took over. Unfortunately, the numbers just didn't make sense. At the end of the day it's a business. Even a CEO with 100% approval cannot change the way math works. The MMO genre is very hard to build a sustainable product in, in 2016. Subscriptions are dead, production cycles are too long, and MTX is rarely enough to recoup the cost of a giant team for 5+ years. I simply think Wildstar was in the wrong place at the wrong time. The product, people, and execution was great. It's just too hard these days. But I understand people need to point fingers in order to cope with layoffs. I was not high up, for the record. I was quite low on the totem pole in fact. Survived the first round of layoffs and got hit by the second. Still unemployed. Sucks, but it's not Carbine's fault. They never wronged me or mistreated me. I will miss it dearly, and I wish Wildstar and Carbine's future ventures all the success possible.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep the team small for now and look for new opportunities. Wildstar won't sustain forever and you need some new revenue streams.

    Carbine Studios2016-04-04
  4. Utile (4)

    « Future Uncertain »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good game Great talent Caring management Good community of developers Even in the layoffs they treated us well with severance packages. I'd work for them again.

    Inconvénients

    There were layoffs recently so not as much of the "Pros" mentioned above, still some. Carbine may be a sinking ship at this point but they may yet turn things around. While the future may be uncertain right now, if things improve financially then I'd say go for it.

    Conseils à la direction

    I hope you can turn things around financially. Things were looking good for a while, a lot of good changes for the better happened. WildStar is a good game and you still have some good people. Take care of them and things might just turn out alright.

    Carbine Studios2016-03-16
  5. Utile (1)

    « Passion Driven »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Aliso Viejo, CA

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein

    Avantages

    -Talented team -The benefits -new building -relaxed attire -Vending machines with partially subsidized pricing -Good parking -Cafeteria -gym

    Inconvénients

    No focus on team building. Little on the job training widening the range of abilities- employees learn this at home.

    Conseils à la direction

    Encourage some team building activities. A work force that pulls long hours is an extended family, treat it as such.

    Carbine Studios2016-03-13
  6. Utile (3)

    « Bittersweet Experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    Je travaille chez Carbine Studios à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Experienced Team New building Competitive Salary

    Inconvénients

    Several rounds of layoffs, the last being massive No room for advancement No new projects No future

    Conseils à la direction

    After sitting through presentation after presentation detailing the reality of our situation, I'm not sure if there is anything can be done at this point.

    Carbine Studios2016-03-25
  7. Utile (3)

    « It's a bad studio for design and engineering. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    - Good benefits package is actually a thing. Engineering and Design are very talented departments, and are some of the best people in the industry. They worked so hard to try and improve the quality of WildStar, and often came up short due to the cons listed below.

    Inconvénients

    - "WIldstar" is a bad game. - "Free snacks and soda" are gone. - "Free SWAG for all employees" is done. - "Food truck Wednesdays" is gone. - "Laid back environment" doesn't exist - "Open to employee suggestions" is a lie. - "Nice area" if you can afford it. A despotic tyrant controls the entire studio and it's alleged creative vision, ignoring all advice and suggestions. Headquarters is enamored with said... tyrant, so executive management is somehow futile to stop him, if they even care (which they clearly don't). The game has been driven into the ground by a terrible studio structure ("a premier destination for artists") by people who don't understand how to make video games but retain control of it all anyway.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Just shut the thing down please.

    Carbine Studios2016-03-12
  8. Utile (1)

    « Carbine Studios, and how it gave us a chance »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Artist 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Overall, the studio is a fun environment, where you as a content creator are enabled to be as creative as you can. I worked at the Carbine for almost seven years, and it was my first game shipped in the videogame industry. I was a green employee, and was given the chance to prove myself in a multitude of different ways. I have nothing but respect for the company, their leadership, and the overall culture. Some will... disagree with me, but this is my overall experience under the NcSoft umbrella :) -Benefits are great -Great Salary (If you know what you are worth, and ask for it) -Incredible Learning Environment (Art) -Room for Promotions -Willingness to be there for you, no matter what

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Communication is key! They have great communication from the top down, but the teams within the company could work on this. The team needs to be more open to conversations. Plenty of times I would have to find out, months later, that a slew of requests were thought to be "In Progress" Overall, my exp was great, I had no issues walking over to talk to designers/programmers. Some things slipped through the... cracks, and left people upset.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Find a way to push forward with the talent you have, because the problem is not your talent, it is the attitude of the studio. You have treated me with nothing but respect as a developer, and I am very thankful for the experience I had at Carbine.

    Carbine Studios2016-01-27
  9. Utile (1)

    « Game Designer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein

    Avantages

    There is/was a lot of good talent at the studio. It was an overall fun place to work.

    Inconvénients

    There are/were a few bad people that seemed to stick around, including some in high places.

    Conseils à la direction

    You have, or at least had, a lot of talented people working for you. I would listen to them more often.

    Carbine Studios2016-01-20
  10. Utile (9)

    « what could've been »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Carbine Studios à temps plein

    Avantages

    Convenient location, large benefits package, flex time scheduling. Korean parent company is publisher of titles and therefore can set it's own ship dates, including moving the date if game isn't right and needs more time. Korean parent company more than patient giving studio chance after chance to turn things around, but not tolerant of mistakes or failure to deliver.

    Inconvénients

    Very clique heavy atmosphere. Underachievers promoted because they hang with right people while top talent snubbed and leave on their own. Management very closed minded with obsolete thinking often repeating history and mistakes. Not receptive to new or current ideas within industry. Management style very outdated. Company morale generally low. Office space is dirty and unkempt. Many employees lack most basic... of manners and hygiene. Korean parents send mixed messages and don't understand American game culture. Easily fooled with smoke and mirrors. HR staff clueless about benefits details even though that's their job.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Get rid of cliques, starting with the inner circle. Clean up the office, it's filthy, an embarrassment, and a health hazard. Get real HR staff that isn't clueless. Implement objective standards to rate employees as culture is heavily biased towards favoritism. Get somebody who really understands how to run a studio and not just look at numbers. Get directors/producers who have pedigree in the field and stop... hiring/promoting those who socialize their way to the top.

    Dérouler
    Carbine Studios2015-11-19
32 avis trouvés