Avis sur Cengage | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Cengage

Mis à jour le nov. 16, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.9
76%
Recommandent à un ami
88%
Approuvent le PDG
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
754 évaluations
  1. Utile (4)

    « Wonderful mission, struggling to be a software company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Engineering Manager à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    The employees at Cengage (from the top down) truly care about the customer - students and teachers. The culture is one of transparency, honesty, and purpose. The purpose/mission being - lower the cost of education.

    Inconvénients

    The mission of the company is admirable, but they are struggling in their transition from a publisher of content to a software company. Be careful getting caught in the ups/downs of this transition.

    Conseils à la direction

    Pay your people market value. They believe in the mission. Don't take advantage of their kindness. As you transition to a software company, pick leaders who care about the employees, as much as the customer. Leaders focused on making a name for themselves will destroy the company from the inside out.

    Cengage2019-11-07
  2. Utile (1)

    « Great Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Good work-life balance. Kind people.

    Inconvénients

    Slow to change, but improving.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the innovation

    Cengage2019-10-27
  3. Utile (5)

    « Short-lived experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Administrative Assistant à Boston, MA

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - Beautiful office - Positive culture - Get to work with hardworking, driven individuals

    Inconvénients

    - Reorgs/layoffs - Uncertainty of keeping your job - Uncertainty of how the merger will impact your job

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue staying transparent through this hard time at Cengage. If you know there might not be a need for a position, don't hire somebody to just then lay them off. Keep employees in the loop.

    Cengage2019-11-05
  4. Utile (8)

    « Not a great experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Benefits are decent, many people are lovely

    Inconvénients

    10 days of PTO, unbelievably inefficient and ineffective management

    Cengage2019-10-29
  5. Utile (1)

    « was a chios but I heard it's getting better »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Applications Architect à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    nice and smart coworkers.

    Inconvénients

    management team didn't know which direction to go. Perhaps a new management team has been in the position now. hope it's better than before

    Cengage2019-11-06
  6. Utile (5)

    « Do not accept a job offer at this place!!! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Account Manager à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    There are some great people who work here and that is the ONLY thing I miss about it.

    Inconvénients

    Leadership and Management - From Michael Hansen, to Bleichmar, to the SVP's and on down to DM's. This company talks a good game about caring for its employees, and about building strong culture, etc., etc. but the only culture that is valued here is a culture where employees are 'yes men' and don't question the status quo and remain silent while leadership makes mind-boggling decisions. Cengage Unlimited has... turned out to be a huge mistake that was pushed for by leadership without a full understanding of the financial impact it would have on the company's bottom line. Or take for instance the move to Pier 4, a highly expensive piece of real estate, that in reality Cengage could not afford to make, given what we now know about their losses this mid-year, which has meant layoffs all around. The merger with McGrawHill will probably be their only saving grace because without it, Cengage would likely cease to exist in another five years, maybe less. If I were McGraw I'd abandon the merger and let Cengage's leadership sink the company, which is where it would have been headed. (Picture the Titanic slowly disappearing below the waters) So to summarize: at Cengage employees don't matter, culture doesn't matter and to a great extent even their products ultimately don't matter. Any profits earned here are used to pay off investors and the salaries of the Executives (of which there is an inordinate amount) who run the various business units, rather than creating great products. There is no innovation happening at this place! Salary - salaries are below industry average, (except for the DM's, SVP's and Exec's - they always seem to do well at Cengage). I got a raise that numbered in pennies during the last review (and that was with a good performance appraisal)! Some colleagues I know received no increases whatsoever. If you are a person who loves innovation, who wants great company culture and an environment that values what you bring to the table - Cengage is not the place for you! Look elsewhere.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Unfortunately, management here doesn't take advice - this is a company that is beholden to investors and that's who their decisions are centered around.

    Cengage2019-11-16
  7. « Great people work here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Senior Director 

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein

    Avantages

    Flexible work environment filled with great people.

    Inconvénients

    Uncertain future as the company is going through a merger.

    Cengage2019-10-14
  8. Utile (3)

    « Great First 3 Months »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Learning Consultant à Charleston, SC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    People are genuinely happy working for Cengage. I feel trusted as a professional.

    Inconvénients

    Uncertainty of how the merger will affect my day to day work.

    Cengage2019-10-02
  9. « Changing industry »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Product Assistant à Boston, MA

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Cengage is working very hard to adapt to a changing industry.

    Inconvénients

    Reorganized several times in the past few years. Employees asked to flex onto multiple teams, increasing their workload. Hard to advance from Product Assistant role.

    Cengage2019-10-24
  10. « Cengage is the Industry Leader »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Director à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Excellent balance between business life and personal life. Super-talented people. Industry leader in the transformation from textbooks to digital learning.

    Inconvénients

    Nothing negative to say about Cengage.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue building an inclusive, exciting culture and corporate ethos.

    Cengage2019-10-09
1297 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer