Avis sur City Year | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur City Year

Mis à jour le 13 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.4
59%
Recommandent à un ami
78%
Approuvent le PDG
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
470 évaluations
  1. « Great experience for future teachers »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - AmeriCorps Member à Miami, FL

    Je travaille chez City Year à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    If your on the fence about being teacher this is a good place to work.

    Inconvénients

    It isn't easy work, but rewarding non the less, still it will often take all your strength to be there for your students. Don't join if you aren't willing to go all out for them.

    City Year2019-09-01
  2. « Good place »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Impact Team à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez City Year à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good people, great beliefs, for the most part a culture of caring...genuinely wants you to self care

    Inconvénients

    Lots of changes every year

    City Year2019-08-26
  3. Utile (1)

    « Great experience, but HARD work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Corps Member à Los Angeles, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez City Year à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    -The KIDS! Was lucky to work with some of my most incredible young scholars. They alone were the reason I showed up day in and day out.

    Inconvénients

    -Management seems to care little for corp members- instead emphasis is placed on appeasing donors and receiving fundraising $ -Hours are insane; 50 hours minimum which is considered overtime at most places is compensated with less than minimum wage rates

    City Year2019-09-03
  4. Utile (1)

    « Tough, but worth it »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Student Success Coach à Chicago, IL

    J'ai travaillé chez City Year à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Really rewarding job! Students are amazing. Looks great on a resume, especially if you are coming right out of high school. Can open up other opportunities in the school district. Given lots of responsibility. Although the organization gives you lots of requirements, you honestly don't need to fulfill most of them and no one will care, which can give you a lot of flexibility in how you want to structure your time... and what supports you want to give to your students!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Micromanaging supervisors, long hours, too many responsibilities and not enough time to complete all of them effectively ("quantity over quality" mindset in the organization generally)

    Conseils à la direction

    Do less! Hire less corps members, but make them more qualified. Have less programs (get rid of social-emotional learning, for example, as corps members are not qualified to deal with the various traumas of students) to allow corps members to fully invest in those attributes. Stop focusing on expanding and do what you already do, better. Also, time on task is a terrible measure of performance! Get rid of it. Get rid... of the 1700 hour requirement; it's pointless to stay after school doing nothing just for the sake of hours. Pay corps members a living wage!!!!

    Dérouler
    City Year2019-08-18
  5. « No Clear Focus. Micro Managing and No Support for Core Members. No Diversity at the Top »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Impact Staff à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez City Year à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    It was a great item to include on my resume

    Inconvénients

    I was the new kid to my particular department who was blamed for the "ills" of my CY target area, but they could never tell me what my job was or what my SOW was. SMH. I had a superior (use that term loosely) asked me what supports I needed and did just the opposite. Excluded me from co-facilitating of workshops, retreats and collaboration opportunities. Had "check-ins" where I couldn't get a word in because she was... ready to jump on anything she perceived as a "wrong answer". Very Unprofessional. Long story short, I complained to HR and suddenly/abruptly my department was mysteriously "eliminated". Oooops. You're being let go because your program was a "pilot program". My "superior" couldn't even name 5 Americorps members.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    How can you serve urban schools when none of your executive board reflect the diversity of CY school partner's student populations?

    City Year2019-09-25
  6. « It’s very a challenging job »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Corps Member 
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez City Year à temps plein

    Avantages

    Kids will melt your heart

    Inconvénients

    Staff expects too much

    City Year2019-09-02
  7. « Rewarding but long hours/days »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - City Year Corps Member 

    Je travaille chez City Year à temps plein

    Avantages

    Pouring into the lives of the young people is always rewarding, even if you don’t see immediate results.

    Inconvénients

    The only con is that the hours/days are long.

    City Year2019-08-16
  8. « Impact »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Impact 

    Je travaille chez City Year à temps plein

    Avantages

    Culture is dope, people are engaging

    Inconvénients

    No trajectory and no ablility to grow.

    City Year2019-08-27
  9. « Advocate for yourself »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Operations Manager à Los Angeles, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez City Year à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Culture, time off flexibility, opportunities to give feedback, community building

    Inconvénients

    Work load, experience focused on AmeriCorps Member sometimes the staff experience get lost

    Conseils à la direction

    Create balance hire additional support in the sumner

    City Year2019-08-22
  10. « Great and Fun if you like kids and intense company culture-- keep in mind it's a VOLUNTEER Position! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - City Year Corps Member 

    J'ai travaillé chez City Year à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Kids are awesome, company culture can be fun, opportunities to learn

    Inconvénients

    Low pay, early mornings and late evenings

    City Year2019-08-07
1196 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer