Avis sur Grand Circle Travel | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Grand Circle Travel

Mis à jour le 14 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.2
17%
Recommandent à un ami
21%
Approuvent le PDG
Grand Circle Travel CEO Alan E. Lewis (no image)
Alan E. Lewis
177 évaluations
  1. Utile (5)

    « Bad Experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein

    Avantages

    Lots of Travel, good salary, lots of different cultures in the workplace

    Inconvénients

    No personal life, ridiculous team building retreats, values they ram down your throat but can't abide by (management)

    Conseils à la direction

    Value your team more

    Grand Circle Travel2018-02-16
  2. Utile (13)

    « They will brake your self-confidence, use you and throw you out »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Program Director 
    Ne recommande pas
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps partiel

    Avantages

    meeting great skilled employees because they know how to choose the best!

    Inconvénients

    They are crazy about their Values and Ratings, it seems numbers are more important to them than people. They love to take the best out of their employees, suck their blood to the bones, and when there is nothing left, throw them out of the company without any compassion! Run away!!!

    Grand Circle Travel2017-02-27
  3. Utile (8)

    « Do your research »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Grand Circle Travel à

    Avantages

    - Salary (they pay well if you can justify you are worth it) - Lots of travel (whether part of role or as discount vacation) *If you are self centered or bullyish in nature then many more pros open up (although still don't count on job longevity)

    Inconvénients

    - the importance of "making tough decisions" and showing strong leadership" trumps all logic. Disguised as accountability or performance management, the only real metric that counts is blame and as a manager you have enormous pressure to regularly cut the weakest link in your team. Pushing back is futile. And the values framework to select the weakest link is poor and unjust. - there... are "untouchables" here - people who are there due to some link with the owner, however tenuous. They all rise ranks or you are forced to keep them on team (even if caused problems or truly are the weakest link). - forget work/life balance - many layers of management - owner: you MUST Google him and also his brother who owns a major competitor based in Boston. In fact read reviews on his company on this site. You will get a picture of the sort of family. He runs the business from fear. - any review is incomplete without the 2 major adjectives that describe the business: Toxic & Dysfunctional

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Advice if considering working here: If you need a job, you will ignore all these reviews and decide it's all disgruntled staff and not all departments or regional offices are like this. That's wrong but hey you need a job. So main advice is to be careful who you trust - especially anyone there longer than 5 years. It takes a very politically minded person to survive here, especially higher up. Also, don't blame... your manager: management here is under crazy pressure... It is not their fault if they treat you unfairly - forgive them - as the culture is greater than any one person and many awesome leaders have left due to it. Lastly don't join the ranks of those who complain bitterly about the place but stay... Be strong and leave. Advice to the top: Build a survey system for staff satisfaction. Make it anonymous - analyse results and act. You say you are data driven but yet when all else is analysed to the extreme, your core asset isn't. This is causing the highest staff turnover I've ever encountered. Yes, there are procedures for being open in reviews and raising "tough questions": but the fear and toxicity overrule true feedback. Hence the popularity of sites like this.

    Dérouler
    Grand Circle Travel2016-02-05
  4. « Great Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Marketing à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Travel, opportunity for growth, great employees

    Inconvénients

    Too many org changes, too often

    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-14
  5. Utile (3)

    « Toxic environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein

    Avantages

    Solid benefits, good chances of promotions as all experienced personnel has fled for their lives, although as a replacement for a promotion you will probably need to lose a bit of your soul.

    Inconvénients

    Owner irrational. Your future in company depends more on your ability to sell an image about yourself than on your job skills and the quality of your work. The fact that the senior personnel has fled means that anyone can be promoted which also includes people whose only skills are that they are yea-sayers and who don't have a single leadership bone in their bodies. If you do manage to impress and do everything... within the crazy deadlines and goals that are given, this only means that for next task it will be expected that you achieve roughly 20-30% better than last time, and this is valid for each next task until you fail, at which point the owner (or SR management) treats you like sh*t in front of your colleagues and uses you as an example to others because in his mind he perceives that as "challenging" people. One of the key phrases is "open & courageous communication", which is only valid if you are saying what they want to hear and if your views are at least 90% aligned with Alan&management. If not, "O&C" is a one way ticket out of the door, which means O&C is basically B&S. P&C (HR) is laughable, incapable of developing people to the point that they have no idea what kind of people they have under them and who is best fit for which role. Due to insane demands (and job insecurity) from head office regional offices have locked themselves in a way where no one wants to even apply for the job, as the company is being regarded as a joke. Letting go of people is erratic, they will let go of people without thinking of the time and the effort it took to develop that person, without thinking of the losses that will be created by incapable replacements, without thinking who will take over the tasks that have been left behind, without thinking that the actual cost of termination at that point means that all other people in that office will be stretched (and frustrated) for several months until they find and train a proper replacement (which is done at a snail's pace), and without thinking of the effects this will have on those people in that office as they will be expected to still deliver 110% of their regular job in addition to delivering everything for that person who was let go.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Advice to Alan - please finally sell this company and give it a chance to become decent again. Advice to senior management - grow a pair.

    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-08
  6. « Management needs to communicate more »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Program Service Coordinator à Tokyo
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    -Get to shape travelers experience by hiring/training guides.

    Inconvénients

    -Management not aligned together with different ideas to run things. -Bad communication in management and everyone blaming others for failures. -On the job training with very high expectations -Have very low staff retention overall

    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-07
  7. Utile (3)

    « Do Not Understand How They Could Lie About ME »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Travel Consultant à Orlando, FL
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    The People were really nice, and from what I saw that 1 day it was amazing and I really wanted to be a part of it. From the Managers to the Trainers, They seemed to really Care about their employee's. I knew I would learn a great deal and really would enjoy helping clients with all their travel needs.

    Inconvénients

    I paid my own way up to Boston from Orlando. I paid for my lodging. I had to resign after the first day of orientation due to my Life Partner's illness. I was told I could reapply after 6 months. I have been applying for about 5 months now. I received an email from a HR Woman, who told me that GCT/OAT would NEVER Look at me again, because GCT had paid my way from Orlando up to Boston and they paid for my Lodging... and after 2 weeks I walked off the Job. Which is a blatant Lie. Because I have the receipts from the airlines and the hotel, which I paid for. It hurts that someone would put a lie in my personal file at GCT, when I thought they were a Awesome and wonderful company.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Find out who is putting false information into employee's personnel files. Please. I really wanted to come back and work for you.

    Grand Circle Travel2019-09-30
  8. Utile (5)

    « Stay FAR Away! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    SOME of the people were the best part about the company (but don't worry, it's only a matter of time before Alan Lewis fires all the good ones)

    Inconvénients

    I don't know how this place is functioning. Everyone walks around on eggshells, avoiding the 6th floor at all costs so as not to run into the owner, Alan. A completely negative office environment. Good luck getting any form of acknowledgment (smile, hello, etc) from any of the "leaders"; they avoid employees like the plague and think they're too good for anyone. The management structure is absolutely pitiful;... everyone is either a relative or friend of Alan and will therefore never leave the payroll no matter what they do or DON'T do...and trust me, they don't do much. If you're a half-decent human being who actually puts in your time and effort, nothing will be recognized unless you drink their kool-aid and LOTS of it. "Directors" and "VP's" are all 25/30 year old's who are in a new position of power and don't know the first thing about managing, but they will certainly leave the office every week for 4 hour lunches when you need them most. Company gives paid days off to leadership only because "they work so hard"; meanwhile there is a load of dead leadership weight just bouncing from department to department. Their only internal organization is one for women, but it's 100% exclusive and you have to be invited, aka it's all political garbage. There's a backwards bi-annual grading system where you get a letter grade for your performance like you're in high school but in GCC fashion, there's no structure to this and it's completely based on politics and how well you get along with your manager. They preach their "core values" but good luck being open and courageous and taking risks, you'll be the out the door real fast.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Eliminate the dead weight. Pay attention to who you're promoting; it's de-moralizing when employees put in hours of extra work each week but their boss is never available because they went to the movies during work or ignores emails because they're playing games in the office. Hire an actual HR department so that people have someone to talk to when there are issues, because there are lots of them.

    Grand Circle Travel2019-10-28
  9. « Good company to work for »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Director, Program Management à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Money! Flexible contracts! Good training team in Bratislava.

    Inconvénients

    Good people! Nothing to add as a suggestion...

    Conseils à la direction

    Stay good as u are!

    Grand Circle Travel2019-09-18
  10. Utile (1)

    « Good Culture, great location, okay benefits »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Traveler Support Associate 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Grand Circle Travel à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great location in the heart of the Seaport District

    Inconvénients

    Performance constantly monitored on ridiculous metrics.

    Grand Circle Travel2019-08-28
276 avis trouvés