Avis sur Illumina | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Illumina

Mis à jour le 20 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

779 avis trouvés

4.2
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
85%
Recommandent à un ami
96%
Approuvent le PDG
Illumina CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
361 évaluations
  1. Utile (5)

    « Commercial »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Commercial à Paris
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Good benefits, CEO has the well-being of employees at the core of the company's focus, location in Cambridge is great. Scientists are first class. Some really great and hardworking individuals.

    Inconvénients

    Toxic culture promoted from the very top. One is either in or out of the chosen fews circle. Suggestions and ideas are stiffled if they do not glorify certain individuals egos in upper management and senior commercial managers prefer to look the other way.

    Conseils à la direction

    Silence makes you complicit and your inertia is encouraging vicious characters to thrive and flourish.

    Illumina2019-04-25
  2. « Brilliant Company / Amazing Mission »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Director 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein

    Avantages

    Smartest company I've ever worked for. One of the few companies out there truly focused on changing the world. Very inspiring to be part of such a mission centric organization. Very progressive internally and externally. Senior leaders truly care about doing what's right. Compensation and benefits are mostly really strong and very progressive.

    Inconvénients

    Some longer tenured leaders really struggle to adapt and change and can stagnate progress (and they are tolerated for too long). We have critical processes and tech infrastructure that can still be immature/outdated and are in need of fresh thinking. Things tend to be SD centric, but that is slowly improving as we bring in more global, dynamic, mature senior leaders. We are a constantly changing company in a dynamic... market (which is great), but there are pockets of employees who really struggle with this level of change.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Please keep making the hard decisions at the leadership level. We need dynamic, global, mature senior leaders at all levels ... even more so as we grow and scale. Don't worry about the vocal minority as we roll out progressive new org structures, programs, and processes. Keep striking the right balance of short term vs long term performance.

    Illumina2019-09-20
  3. « Great experience so far »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    One of the best benefits of working at Illumina is knowing you're working for a company that's actually making a difference in the world. The people here are smart, collaborative, and hard working. I feel complete ownership in my responsibilities and have tons of opportunities to work across functional areas.

    Inconvénients

    We're a growing company. The org structure is still developing and maturing, which makes clear roles and responsibilities challenging. Fortunately, leadership is proactively addressing these issues

    Conseils à la direction

    Invest in people with healthcare experience. We have a lot of scientists (including me), but I rarely meet clinicians at Illumina.

    Illumina2019-09-18
  4. « Manager »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Manager à San Diego, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Awesome mission, amazing people, amazing work environment to thrive i

    Inconvénients

    We want to do sooooo much at once. Prioritization is key at every level. We need to learn to say “no”.

    Conseils à la direction

    Empower Directors to quickly make decisions. Keep adding amazing, industry leading benefits - we love FTO and CCTO!

    Illumina2019-09-13
  5. Utile (18)

    « Unstructured and lack directions »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Engineer à San Diego, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    People are smart and work is interesting. Great campus. Good work life balance.

    Inconvénients

    Unstructured and lack directions. Hard working is not valued. The goal is not to make great product but to fight for credits (even for things you didn't do). Not many innovations/research going on. Gender/racial diversity if not good and no one really cares (at least from what I saw).

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire more real researchers/engineers than politicians.

    Illumina2019-08-22
  6. « Great Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Clinical Laboratory Technologist 

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein

    Avantages

    Illumina is a great place to work, everyone has a positive attitude.

    Inconvénients

    None, I can not think of any cons.

    Illumina2019-09-10
  7. Utile (5)

    « Excellent product but risk losing its edge »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Illumina à plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The product is excellent and the impact on human health is superb. It is an excellent place for bio and chemistry folks to work at the cutting edge. Similarly as optics and nanofabrication engineers, you will be working at cutting edge. The new HR VP has implemented several good changes except the flexible time off policy. Overall she is doing a good job. Stock grant is good but does not scale up more than 10k with... promotion. The campus is beautiful. Engineers and co workers are generally top of the line in the development group and the biology and chemistry team. Same goes for the supply chain team overall. Work life balance is great in most groups. The company has good prospect. Overall this is a great place to work but may not be suitable for your career unless you are in the right group with the right manager. CEO is however doing a great job. Women engineers are being promoted to technical leadership role which is a big plus.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    1. Base pay is very low compared to other companies like Qualcomm or ASMl. And I am not considering the SW companies. Performance is not reflected in yearly raise or bonus.You get the same pitiful 2 to 3 percent raise irrespective of your performance. 2. The biologist and scientists are paid less than engineers who are probably paid lower than the marketing folks. So priorities are messed up here. 3. You will not... be paid bonus and end up with 0 pay because commercial could not make the right forecast. Even if the company makes profit you might end up with zero bonus. Happened twice in last four years. Assuming 2019 will be the same. Glad I left before that. 3. If you are a SW engineer you will be doing extremely low end and low pay job and be led by folks with no programming skills and background. Exit before you are burnt out. Much better salary elsewhere. 4. The quality team here is a joke. People are doing document control and do not get exposure in any real quality engineering work. For your own self respect do not join quality group at Illumina. Same goes for validation group. To be promoted all you need to do is carry a bag and jump from one meeting to another to make development team’s life easier. 5.The SD consumable and the instrument LCM team is mismanaged by the middle management to an unbelievable extent. The consumable managers have no clue on what they are doing and should be fired enmasse. Look at the current project and talk to engineers to gather feedback. The instrument LCM team on the other hand is not sure of its existence. The need of this group and the reporting structure and promotion and stock sharing plan needs to be investigated at highest level. The Hayward and Singapore LCM team is a competent manufacturing team. 6. Flexible time off is not really flexible time off. Different groups are interpreting it differently. 7. Power of i, career development plan and idp are all a big joke in most groups. Power of i is not actually anonymous and you can be hurt if you are very forthcoming. Be careful of what you write. However giving too positive feedback will just result in your manager getting promoted when he has no real impact. 8. Promotion in development and R&D teams is very slow compared to manufacturing and LCM team. 9. System integration team is overworked and are underpaid for the work that team is putting in. It is unfortunate that they are paid the lowest. Also you develop a lot of tribal knowledge than transferable skill set there.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Please review reporting structure and align with functional needs. Pay should be commensurate with performance in terms of yearly hike and bonus. Review of this should be done to understand historical distribution. The people management team in Illumina has too much fat in many places and should be trimmed to improve efficiency. We are a biotech company and we should prioritize technical skills over people... management. Most technical leaders in Illumina are highly qualified and should be more influential than a bunch of middle managers jockeying for influence and power.

    Dérouler
    Illumina2019-09-07
  8. « Excited where we are going! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Human Resources à San Diego, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Revolutionary Rewarding Challenging Keeps you on your toes and moving

    Inconvénients

    Startup approach to some aspects of the Org. At the same, time we are making very positive and encouraging strides to becoming a true Corporate powerhouse

    Conseils à la direction

    We need more diversity in Sr Leadership

    Illumina2019-09-06
  9. « This is where I want to be »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Project Manager à San Diego, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Working with fantastic, accomplished, and intensely intelligent people.

    Inconvénients

    Highly technical information that can be a deterrent to some PMs not technically trained through experience or education.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep the information flowing via all hands and the communication tools you use. I am well updated and have a clear understanding based on the current flow of information.

    Illumina2019-09-06
  10. « Great work-life balance and benefits »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Customer Support Specialist à San Diego, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Illumina à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Flexible time off, 1st week of july & week of Christmas off, growth potential, training classes

    Inconvénients

    Normal office political-like atmosphere.

    Illumina2019-09-07
779 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer