Avis sur MITRE | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur MITRE

Mis à jour le 11 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

930 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
57%
Recommandent à un ami
31%
Approuvent le PDG
MITRE CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
162 évaluations
  1. Utile (23)

    « Aberdeen Site has gone downhill »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Systems Engineer à Aberdeen, MD
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Good work / life balance, decent compensation Not for profit allows some better work

    Inconvénients

    - Company strategic plan is to ignore the core business and keep adding more business units (FFRDC) that have little in common. - Surveyed to death, with little results

    Conseils à la direction

    This used to be a top 100 place to work! Now the place is average at best. Keeping bad/toxic employees makes good employees leave.

    MITRE2019-08-23
  2. Utile (115)

    « Most of the negative reviews here are correct »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Principal Scientist à Bedford, MA
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps partiel depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    MITRE's mission is exceptional, and most of the people I know at MITRE really believe in it. My colleagues in my local department are smart, dedicated and imaginative. The work in my organization is varied and mostly very interesting. The opportunities for part-time and flex schedules are exceptional, and the benefits remain pretty good, including the retirement plan. Work-life balance is also solid. I've stayed at... MITRE for more than 30 years for all these reasons.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I was skeptical about the value of Glassdoor until I read the recent reviews, which are spot-on as far as I'm concerned. Where to start? Many reviews here suggest that the company started going downhill when Al Grasso left and Jason Providakes took over; but the problem actually started with Al. On the one hand, he did good things to make the company more unified; on the other hand, he instituted a culture of... glad-handing nonsense that has infected everything the company says to its own employees (witness the content-free responses by MITRE's Employee Experience Team on Glassdoor; believe it or not, this is how MITRE speaks internally to us, its employees, on a daily basis). The hiring disaster of a year ago was a consequence, I believe, of inexperienced portfolio managers doing a crappy job of estimating demand, and I don't know whether the company learned anything from it (certainly, they've shut up about it this year, that's for sure). The expensive moonshot and platform efforts are both bleeding money from the work that we're actually supposed to be doing; they're vanity efforts which are poorly overseen and almost certainly doomed to failure. And don't get me started about MITRE's self-congratulatory non-repair of the compensation mess. Of the 24 people listed on MITRE's executive team page, I have a reasonable familiarity with 8 of them; 5 of them I trust, one I wouldn't give you a dime for, and two of them are actively disastrous - and unfortunately, those two are effectively running the company.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Fire Jason Providakes and Rich Byrne. Make Pete Sherlock or Kerry Buckley the CEO. Forget the vanity projects. Shut down the portfolio effort - it's caused more problems, and introduced more management hassles, than it's solved. Stop communicating with your employees using glad-handing nonsense. And please - please - don't embarrass yourselves by having the Employee Experience Team respond to this review.

    MITRE2019-02-08

    Réponse de MITRE

    February 18, 2019Employee Experience Team

    We agree that MITRE has an extremely talented workforce, with a shared purpose of serving the public interest, and we appreciate hearing the perspectives of all our employees—both those who are early in their careers, and those who have been at MITRE for several years. That said, ...

    Dérouler
  3. Utile (11)

    « Used to be a great place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Systems Engineer à McLean, VA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MITRE à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Great benefits (sort of). 401K matching is excellent and the dental care is excellent. However, lately the health care benefit has gone down the drain. They have moved to a single provider rather than the 3 options we used to have. Interesting work. Ability to work with lots of really great smart people. Supportive team environments - almost family like (this is starting to change).

    Inconvénients

    MITRE is going through the longest culture change I have ever seen. 5+ years and its been rough and doesn't seem to be getting better. Leadership is better at communicating to the workforce about its intentions but implementation of the vision is different by center and programs. This creates confusion among the employees who work together on projects but are from different centers.

    Conseils à la direction

    Implementation of policies and procedures should be corporate wide. Health benefits need a revisit (prescription plan is the worst).

    MITRE2019-09-04
  4. « Great company to work for »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à Stafford, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great leadership. Staff listens to their employees. The work-life balance is awesome and a very relaxed environment.

    Inconvénients

    Sometimes the goal of the work is lost. You may wonder why the work you are doing is necessary and the bigger picture.

    MITRE2019-09-12
  5. Utile (37)

    « "Good Growth" ... for whom? »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MITRE à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Wonderful facilities and amenities--they provide a 'home away from home." Good corporate communications structure--particularly MAID displays, and informative intranet with intuitive searches, and well-organized information on people and projects. Many technically gifted employees that take their roles as trusted advisors to the sponsor very seriously. Despite rumblings, health and retirement benefits are still... excellent.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Corporate narcissism. There is a palpable preoccupation with self-identifying, re-branding, re-orging, synergizing, silo-smashing ...and other trite management-consultant-inspired hyphenates. More disturbing is the rampant cliques that have become the sole avenue for access to good project opportunities, and the primary basis for promotions. There are some very deep pockets of misogyny and nepotism that have... stalled careers, and inspired once dedicated and motivated employees to go elsewhere.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Consider how many impactful new initiatives, and strategic slogans one workforce can tolerate before it just checks out. It's not hard to feel the growing fatigue if you tune in for a moment. Regarding the favoritism...the CYA panel interviews may fend off some lawsuits, but the culture won't change until MITRE management is so full of incompetent golf buddies it implodes, and resets.

    MITRE2019-08-08

    Réponse de MITRE

    August 21, 2019Employee Experience Team

    MITRE is proud of the dedication and integrity of our diverse talent, as we work together to solve some of the world’s toughest problems. Your comments regarding misogyny and nepotism are concerning, and do not align with our values nor the most basic requirements we have for talent ...

    Dérouler
  6. Utile (18)

    « Support my colleagues. Negative Reviews on SOME senior management are accurate »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Director à McLean, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Location; Benefits; colleagues are smart both internal and agencies; CEO seems to be trying

    Inconvénients

    Top Level executive Management tripping over themselves; new hires not working out causing disruption

    Conseils à la direction

    Be careful who you bring in. New transformational Officer was let go at her last company although they allowed her to claim she remained a "consultant", people wo work there said she seemed more occupied self promotion herself than the company, attending sporting events with her family with company tickets, letting go of so many seasoned veterans the CEO finally had enough (saying he would not backfill the position)..., attending conferences one at which she said diversity statistics was not important (other panel members objected) and employees wrote her up on Glassdoor. Also her resume makes it sound like she has post graduate degrees at Stanford and Harvard when she does not. Let us hope she doesn't cause disruption here at Mitre. Scuttlebug is that she was forced on our CEO by a Board member from United Way where she came from.

    Dérouler
    MITRE2019-07-21

    Réponse de MITRE

    August 16, 2019Employee Experience Team

    Our leaders come from diverse backgrounds across industry, government, and public service, and are on the team because of their tremendous dedication to our mission of solving problems for a safer world. At MITRE, we are committed to practicing integrity in everything we do, including ...

    Dérouler
  7. Utile (26)

    « Very top heavy financial drag on projects »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Department Head à Bedford, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Been here 30+ years have done lots of great projects

    Inconvénients

    Top heavy management over burdening labor rate. Strategic thinkers wannabe only LaPlante is genuinely smart. They have forgotten how to work tactically if they ever knew. Retirees (including former SVPs) are PNG and must get escort badges (hateful behavior)

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire no more VPs maybe get rid of some. Get back to the roots of great systems engineering that made the company a great place to work.

    MITRE2019-08-08
  8. « Overall a nice office and location »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Financial Analyst à McLean, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    free covered parking garage and walkways into building. gym, cafeteria by corporate chefs of america, mainly small offices with doors and few cubicles (usually admin staff).

    Inconvénients

    lacking in training and onboarding.

    MITRE2019-08-26
  9. Utile (22)

    « Good benefits, poor compensation »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Engineer à Washington, DC
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez MITRE à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Good technical talent. Sincere desire among workers to act in the public interest.

    Inconvénients

    Very slow to promote. Annual raises less than inflation, about 1% a year; they throw in a "cash award" every year and use it to tell you you got a larger percentage raise but somehow that number disappears next year and your next raise is calculated on your "base salary".

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop sounding like every other for-profit contractor, telling workers to "grow the company".

    MITRE2019-07-19
  10. Utile (24)

    « NEVER Again... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Bedford, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MITRE à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The people, who are NOT in management...those who actually are doing work for MITRE.

    Inconvénients

    Management, management, and management. At one time MITRE was a great place to work. Over the past 5 years they have gone down hill. I would NEVER recommend anyone go work at MITRE. They are so top heavy that I wouldn't be surprised if the company toppled over. And let's not talk about the folks who they put in management positions. Most are engineers with NO management skills...horrible.

    Conseils à la direction

    Dig down into the lower levels, get your heads out of the sand and take a strong look at how poorly the company is being run by some of your managers...start by looking in ECIS and the "good ole boy club"!!

    MITRE2019-08-28
930 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer