Avis sur MZ | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur MZ

Mis à jour le 7 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.2
50%
Recommandent à un ami
67%
Approuvent le PDG
MZ CEO Kristen Dumont (no image)
Kristen Dumont
26 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « May the Moogle Be With You... Always. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Engineer à Palo Alto, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    MZ faces the same challenge that every single game company faces... how to stay relevant. The games business has historically been the most forward-looking, risk-taking tech industry. And perhaps for that reason and many more, the most beloved. Every innovation hits games first. Every engineer wants to make a hit game. Games make us go wow! They blow our minds. They connect us to our instincts to learn,... compete, make friends, get lucky, and win. They are dazzling and baffling. Coin-Op. Console. PC. Web. Social. Mobile. And Beyond. MMO. Card. Shooter. Puzzle. While the games business is vast, carving out a niche isn't easy. And carving out a niche while paying for Palo Alto real-estate is the most epic mongo baller of all wins. Video games were born in the Silicon Valley and Machine Zone is right in the middle of it. The buildings are brand new, clean, and beautiful on the former Facebook campus now in reconstruction. Early into the mobile games market, MZ owned top slots on the AppStores for months coasting on innovative SuperBowl advertising and then diversifying into Ad Tech, AI, Crypto, Real-Time... God Stuff. But the universe ebbs and flows. Where are we on the tech adoption curve... who knows? One thing remains true... customers expect a lot as they economize their entertainment dollars. So MZ has managed to win over a very loyal group of paying players. Every technology and community changes. Will people still program on PCs one day? Who knows. Will people still play the MZ games we operate today ten years from now? Who knows. Will we all upload? Man. Big questions. What's real is that MZ has been contracting over the last year and a half to focus on what it does best... developing and operating games. On the operations side we are embracing lots of new cloud technologies. On the development side, we have in limited release a beautiful new title that shows off our continued ability to innovate on the client, art, game design, and server. We have vast capital, intellectual assets, potential and good people. Contraction isn't pleasant, but it is often necessary. Some of what you see on Glassdoor is a reflection of that. What are you gonna do? That's life and our individual experiences will very. Ultimately our personal outcomes are a direct result of the individual choices we make in the stream of choices we have available to us. We recently re-branded as MZ... 1. Which i think is cool. As per U2 we are not the same, but we ARE 1. Culturally, I'd say we are aggressive for the games business. We lean toward core and blue. After all, we made Game of War. Teams naturally internalize their titles to some degree. But games also naturally attract fun-loving creatives. I feel that that is what we are at our core. And we are much more... Final Fantasy and brilliant technologists, artists, and game designers. To be continually relevant we must continue to make good decisions, place good bets, and make the connection with more loyal paying player fans. All game companies share this mission. MZ is a big game maker / operator by most standards. This is not just a few folks in a room. So we have teams and subcultures and thus your experience may vary. If you are into the games business and looking forward to a long-term career in it and you live in Silicon Valley or catch the Cal Train to California or carpool down 280 or live in Supertino from the SJC to the DMZ, I really think you should take a look at MZ. Perhaps you will be THE one young Jedi. Come say Hi. Take a look.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Lots of change and people re-identifying with a new mission and vision that is more focused than the broad vision of "become a tech giant".

    MZ2019-11-07
  2. « Very Competitive Team »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - LiveOp Manager à Palo Alto, CA
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    This is a job that can help you grow your hard skills. This is my first month, and I feel like learning a lot of stuffs. I mean hard skills like SQL, python, which really help you increase your value in the market. If you are young and passionate about game industry, this is the right place for you. I would love more people join LiveOp team. This is best team for you to grow in MZ. Plus you have awesome teammates... and super nice boss :)

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    You have to get used to game industry culture.

    MZ2019-10-10
  3. « It was a good ride »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Manager 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MZ à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    The company rewards great contributions with great pay

    Inconvénients

    Previous CEO failed We're not factory workers

    MZ2019-10-20
  4. « Positive creative atmosphere »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    3D Artist 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à

    Avantages

    The art team is full of talent but more importantly teamwork, even across multiple projects. Art directors I've worked with have a lot of experience in the games medium here, and are able to set clear goals, they aren't "idea guys" with vague requests. Additionally for LGBTQ+ and allies, the environment here is very friendly. Im a trans woman, and I never am misgendered by coworkers. Additionally, even with... racy characters in some games, the art team is very sensitive to treating their female coworkers well and not devolving into a "boys club". Teams here also have very wide ethnic and national diversity, definite plus. If you are a foodie, the food here is very very very fancy, but if you like more regular stuff like me, there are those options too.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I wish there were more women in the art department, but the company does too and definitely wants to recruit more. Also...the commute in and out of Palo Alto can be absolutely brutal.

    Conseils à la direction

    More work from home options could be great when not scheduled for on site meetings.

    MZ2019-10-04
  5. Utile (14)

    « Horrible company to work with »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Marketing Analyst à Palo Alto, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Cannot think of any pros!

    Inconvénients

    Toxic culture, intensive politics, chaos management, sinking business, high attrition rate, the list goes on and on. The company is also obsessed about hours everyone works instead of the results. They enforce weird 10-7 working hours which is believed to be a way to drive away candidates with families. If you have a family, especially if you have kids. NEVER EVER, NOT EVER, CONSIDER MZ!!! If you don't have... a family, also NEVER EVER, NOT EVER, CONSIDER MZ!!! Everyone around me are interviewing and leaving.

    Dérouler
    MZ2019-08-30
  6. Utile (1)

    « Never a Dull Moment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Engineering Manager à Palo Alto, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The single most prominent feature of MZ is that I am never bored. There is way too much to do and probably too little oversight, giving me enormous opportunity to do something new and make an impact. I often do things that are not my job and not part of a plan because they are the right thing to do, and I generally don't get in trouble for it, the times that it's even noticed. On another note, if you want to make... games and make rent, come here - the compensation and benefits are great.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    It's chaos, more or less. Schedules are aggressive to the point of being delusional and often our optimistic plans degrade into little plan at all. The company is great at operating and marketing and selling games, so once one staggers out the door it's going to do great. I simply recommend taking deep breaths and letting go of a lot of the craziness. Other cons - I guess the hours can be long. This is a game... company, and it doesn't excuse our planning missteps, but other game companies can be quite worse. Also, MZ seems to be quite wary of hiring junior talent, and I think would be well served to start doing so and giving leads and managers time and support to mentor those junior contributors.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Start with a realistic plan informed by the measure velocities of previous projects.

    MZ2019-07-26
  7. « Everyone here wants to win »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Director à Palo Alto, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    MZ has refocused its business on its core of gaming and is well positioned for success. The company is releasing two new games this year which will be game changers and everyone is really excited about the future. I see a lot of complaints on GD about people working hard at MZ but in truth that is limited to a few groups in the company -- most people here work 10-7 (or less!) and never on weekends. It is true... that everyone works in the office -- this is a very face-to-face collaborative culture. The bottom line is that the people who love MZ and are successful here have a competitive spirit and strong will to win. That type of MZ intensity and excitement is present across all groups in the company and the "never give up" attitude and what we've accomplished has resulted in strong bonds between the employees. Also there is excellent food (everywhere) and super fun team building events and parties.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The last year has been challenging and it can be tough to keep up the energy we need to make it over the finish line.

    Conseils à la direction

    Just keep going. You have the right people in the right position and the right tech.

    MZ2019-07-26
  8. Utile (4)

    « Well funded, hard working, future hazy »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Engineering Manager à Palo Alto, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Machine Zone has taken fantastic care of me financially, offering excellent opportunities for advancement, rewarding hard work and proposals. It's enabled experimenting with management techniques. It's well funded for future ventures and the board works to create a healthier road for the future. The CEO visibly works to make sure that rewards for company success can be shared well with staff. It's got 3 meals a... day by a reasonable cafeteria crew that take good care of the group. It takes care of a lot of out of pocket costs for benefits.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    We don't know what builds success, but have succeeded a lot, leading to very painful patterns (Projects without staff or roadmap or pitch). Decisions on major company timelines can shift quickly and multiple times a year. Building a 6 or 12 month plan is an exercise in futility for the most part. A lot of teams are understaffed from a constant drive toward shared service models. Promotions often lack filling... the gap promoted out of, leaving folks responsible for wider and wider spaces. Accountability is so distributed as to basically have no accountability for almost all of our game products. We brutalize our customers with buggy and poorly considered content, leaving them with the impression we don't care. Off hours incidents are multiple times a month. Some teams crunch excessively.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Build a solid longterm plan and staff for it. The constant struggle of 'what is most important to hire, we won't hire where it isn't important' leaves the company constantly fragile. Spend a year on fundamentals. There's lots of signs that the ground at which we're trying to run on and the way we spin up projects isn't sound, and we keep adding more without fixing. Actually have some folks responsible for... what a game should contain, pitching for budget, manpower, time, direction rather than just funneling staff and time at a project. It'd lead toward less alignment problems and less folks swimming painfully without any idea where they're going.

    Dérouler
    MZ2019-07-31
  9. Utile (1)

    « Cool Place to Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Concept Artist à Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MZ à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Location, Benefits, Perks, Food and Parties. Generally a pretty chill place to work. Even though it was not my choice to leave, I will always have a positive outlook for MZ for giving me an opportunity and helping me grow as an artist.

    Inconvénients

    Housing/ apartments close by are pretty expensive ( Bay Area ) plus cost of living is high. But manageable with income earned.

    Conseils à la direction

    Improve communication between leadership and subordinates. At least this is mainly what I believe led to me parting ways with MZ. Also, maybe try to improve in quality over quantity.

    MZ2019-07-03
  10. Utile (1)

    « Hard work pays off....#triumphtogether »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez MZ à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The impact you have, every person in the building is critical! CEO is really making changes that are up leveling us like never before and being more open and transparent, the pay, bonuses and equity...and working with REALLY smart and passionate people! The culture has definitely made a shift, and while we all still work extremely hard, it feels more flexible. There are growth and development opportunities for me... and my team, and I learn something new everyday. The #triumphtogether mantra is bringing the one MZ feeling back!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    It is challenging to have core hours that are so late, but nice to come in later. I wish we had a little more flexibility there. The Game Production teams are working extremely hard, which means a lot of hours for them at month end. What makes MZ successful is the blood sweat and tears put in by everyone. That also means some teams have a window of critical crunch time, and we need to find creative ways to support... them.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep pushing the envelope, keep growing your people and giving opportunities to folks who have worked hard for the company! Find a way to keep the passion and drive, but give even more on the flexibility front.

    MZ2019-07-03
272 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer