Avis sur NCSOFT | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur NCSOFT

Mis à jour le oct. 21, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.7
39%
Recommandent à un ami
35%
Approuvent le PDG
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
40 évaluations
  1. « Good perks and good salary but out of date executives »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Programmer à Séoul
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Good environment and perks Competitive salary

    Inconvénients

    Out of date executives and Top-down management and development style A genre of games that speak about diversity but not at all

    Conseils à la direction

    They don't seem to have will to change. Maybe they don't want to be like that.

    NCSOFT2019-04-02
  2. Utile (7)

    « Poor Executive Leadership »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez NCSOFT à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    • Every team had a lot of ambition, promise, and talent. • Ability to work on known market brands and new IPs. • Large corporate resources available (when they chose to use them). • Health insurance was top notch, as confirmed by numerous doctor offices. • Pay was competitive for the area.

    Inconvénients

    • Lack of capable executive leadership. The CEO has no accountability, along with her SVP teams. • Little executive planning, all lip-service with high level goals but no road-map or plan on how to get there other than, "Make lots of money!" • Beholden to the South Korea office for all major decisions, from corporate to game teams. No ability to make real change. • Problematic product pipeline -- no large,... successful MMORPGs released since BnS (which was an older game from KR to begin with) and rocky mobile releases. • Work-Life balance is horrible, especially when nearing crunch times. Not helped by the Operations department always running too lean, whether in regards to System Admins or QA staff (scheduling emergency patches/investigations always has a huge human cost).

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Replace the NCwest CEO, Dr. Songyee Yoon. She has no confidence by the entire western organization and she's shown no ability to lead or inspire her workforce nor make timely business decisions. Secondly, replace all divisional heads and instill strong accountability and regular upwards progress.

    NCSOFT2019-03-28
  3. Utile (4)

    « Long overdue change is happening »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Employee focused - Amazing benefits - Committed to the future

    Inconvénients

    - Middle management is very junior - Organization is very spread out

    Conseils à la direction

    Make decisions quicker on if products move forward. Many of the games that have been shut down were in development much too long before the tough decisions were made. Start small and if they don't work, fail fast. This will provide more opportunity for better products.

    NCSOFT2019-03-03
  4. « Lots of potential, with tons of opportunities to do better »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    • Iconic MMORPG products with global reach • Small company feel with long company history and financial stability • Tons of opportunity to learn new skills and shape your role in the company

    Inconvénients

    • Currently has a limited live products, but has aggressive growth plan • With any large company, especially a global one, there are going to be miscommunications and internal politics, NCSOFT is no different • Has struggled to find its footing in a post-MMORPG crazed world

    Conseils à la direction

    • We need to become a more transparent, player focused company. People spend tons of money and time in our games and we need to show them that we care and are on this journey together. This means longer term planning for new titles so the game can find an audience, and showing integrity when we make mistakes. If we make significant changes to our approach to player interaction and feedback, we will be able to... cultivate a more positive future for our company. • Not every product can be a hit, but keep taking chances on new titles and genres • Just because an approach works in one region doesn't mean it is going to work across the globe. We need all teams to understand that specific regions (especially onces across multiple continents) need extra support and unique features to operate our titles successfully. • We have the opportunity to make a huge impact in the game industry, but we need to ensure we have the right people in place. Keeping toxic employees that are more interested in asserting authority and collecting a paycheck are holding us all back. • I have rated NCSOFT a 4 out of 5 as I am cautiously optimistic for our future.

    Dérouler
    NCSOFT2019-03-07
  5. Utile (4)

    « Really good at giving you a ton of rope to hang yourself with. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Engineer à San Mateo, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    * Little intervention from the HQ in South Korea meant we enjoyed a surprising amount of freedom and agency in making our game. * Pay was barely competitive with the rest of the SF market * Benefits were good * The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance. We're getting shut down, though, so I don't know what... surviving studios are like.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    * All that freedom I mentioned came at the cost of upper brass decision making feeling really distant and opaque culminating in our studio getting canned just when we thought we were about to launch with a (hopefully) successful game. This whole experience gave me the impression that HQ is pretty clueless about how to manage their western studios. * Rev share was promised (more like dangled at the end of a stick)... and now is just moot because we (the studio that made the game) aren't going to be around when the game finally launches.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Maybe try not shutting down studios literally right as they are gearing up to launch their game. We didn't even get the chance to prove whether it was all worth it. If the game launches and is a huge success, almost none of the original developers will see a dime from it, which is a real shame.

    NCSOFT2019-02-27
  6. Utile (1)

    « Not good »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Manager à Séoul

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    not too bad compensation and welfare

    Inconvénients

    Too bad experience working with most of leaders

    NCSOFT2019-02-08
  7. « cool place »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 

    J'ai travaillé chez NCSOFT à temps plein

    Avantages

    mnc, great exposure. travel. good brand

    Inconvénients

    mnc, beuro, rigid at times. lay offs

    NCSOFT2019-01-22
  8. Utile (2)

    « Worst place I have ever worked »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Anonymous à San Mateo, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez NCSOFT à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Free snack and beverages. Location is good.

    Inconvénients

    Some managers are good, but majority of managers are just good as manipulator. CEO needs to show a better leadership and treat employees with RESPECT. Company’s turnover rate is pretty high. It is very disorganized company..

    Conseils à la direction

    None

    NCSOFT2019-02-21
  9. Utile (2)

    « A company trying to look like a good company. But not much. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez NCSOFT à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Well known company, Try to look like a good company.

    Inconvénients

    A team leader who does not have love and understanding about the game. Low salary increase rate

    NCSOFT2019-01-13
  10. Utile (10)

    « Political - Unorganized - Untalented »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Aliso Viejo, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez NCSOFT à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The usual perks you get when you work in the game industry: It's acceptable to play games (within reason), free snacks/culture related events every once in a while.

    Inconvénients

    It's difficult to quantify how bad the company is. Leadership has neglected nearly every single area of the company. Career opportunities are pretty much 0 unless you are extremely political or are able to talk your way up. This is due to the fact that management/leadership is completely clueless of the needs of each department and what it requires to function properly. I've seen people with less than a few years in... their discipline rise all the way to the top, while the qualified candidates who are honest and promote integrity are ignored. According to the company surveys, over 50% of the employees are looking for other jobs. I'd even put management in the same basket. As a result, you get a lot of people in leadership with the "I'm leaving soon, so it doesn't matter" attitude. I'd like to think that this is the reason why most in management ignore the company issues, but I won't rule out incompetence either. On the topic of employee surveys, what ever happened to those? The company got decimated with bad internal reviews, but took no steps to fix anything tangible within the company. As I briefly mentioned politics, you'll see plenty of professional bus throwers here. With no real leadership at the company, it makes sense that people are allowed to get away with it. Especially when, as I mentioned, people are rewarded for it. If you could lie about your experience, get away with it and get promoted, why wouldn't you? That being said, there are a few good people mixed throughout. What about working for a place where the exec group doesn't understand it's own products? Most don't even possess prerequisite or elementary knowledge of the industry.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop re-organizing the bottom when you need to be re-organizing the top. As they always say "crap flows downhill!" It certainly does here, and it's the direct cause of 90% of the issues at this company. You need to start rewarding employees who have actual experience in their field, and put a stop to the talk-your-way-up policies. Remove everyone who you put up at the top with dishonest politics, and replace them... with the employees who have actual integrity.

    Dérouler
    NCSOFT2019-01-19
136 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer