Avis sur Nerdery | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Nerdery

Mis à jour le 25 juil. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

168 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
52%
Recommandent à un ami
57%
Approuvent le PDG
Nerdery CEO Adrian Slobin (no image)
Adrian Slobin
9 évaluations
  1. Utile (6)

    « Not the same company. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Nerd 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nerdery à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    The Nerdery started their growth with a business model of working with agencies. They focused on agencies that didn't have the in-house talent to build out the website part of rebranding or marketing initiatives. Somewhere along the way, mobile apps and other services became part of the offerings, but websites were always the bread and butter. They figured out they could make more money by helping companies do... "digital transformation". Hired a new CEO and tried to turn on a dime to go after relatively huge clients. As a result, the business model is almost completely changed. There's much less website work. The remaining work is also different, so there's turnover/layoffs. The sales cycle takes longer. Not doing smaller projects means there's less ability to simply get the foot in the door and eventually scale up to large transformation projects. There is potential here for the company to make money. No idea what it's going to be like for developers. Biggest pro for the company is work/life balance. This hasn't changed - if you make sure your work is taken care of, you have flexibility (time off or work from home) to do what you need .

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The high point of the Nerdery was always the people. Passionate developers that care about their work. This is becoming less and less true. Some people are being let go. Others are leaving because they don't feel as secure or engaged. No idea how much this will continue. I've seen people laid off that I consider to be top notch, first class nerds. The sales people I've talked to have been really alienated as well.... There seems to be less opportunity for real engagement with the work. Bottlecap - the Friday end of week party used to be an opportunity for socializing. It helped knit the company's culture. Now it's been moved to noon, and there's less socializing.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    You've burned a lot of bridges. I hope you figure out the sales cycle and preserve the company. Not sure how you can keep the high quality of Nerds we had in the past. Good luck with that, no sarcasm intended. Keep communicating and do your best to allow people to take pride in their work. With these larger projects there's going to be more of a tendency for people to feel like parts of a machine instead of... valued individual contributors. Watch out, since people will leave because of that. You've pretty much shown you don't value Nerdery culture, apart from how it directly affects the bottom line. Mistake. Hope you start taking the sense of community seriously again.

    Dérouler
    Nerdery2019-07-16

    Réponse de Nerdery

    July 23, 2019CEO

    Thank you for spending more than five years of your career here and for sharing your insights with us. You are absolutely right that our business model has shifted away from primarily supporting agencies and creating marketing sites towards long-term partnerships with our clients ...

    Dérouler
  2. Utile (1)

    « Commodity Services »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Account Executive à Bloomington, MN
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nerdery à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    At times, people were highly engaged and working together

    Inconvénients

    The focus on the customer was misaligned between teams and it became a cutthroat environment

    Conseils à la direction

    Find your differentiation and focus on the customer

    Nerdery2019-07-25
  3. « Not a bad little company! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    Ancien employé - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nerdery à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Tight knit groups, people have fun and work well together. No bad apples that I've found.

    Inconvénients

    Better support for remote workers

    Nerdery2019-06-02
  4. Utile (12)

    « Stay away »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Strategy à Bloomington, MN
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nerdery à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Talented coworkers, ability to contribute at varying levels, flexible work environment, regular company activities with food.

    Inconvénients

    The turnover. Wow, it was surprising, constant, and disruptive to both teams and client projects. You walk the halls and everyone is just miserable. A vision touting "change" and "new direction" and yet no ability to communicate "why" or "how" or for "who". Leaders who seem to be paid by the buzzword yet can't explain anything in plain language. A desire to move the company downtown because it would be... "cool" like the other shops. The Nerdery was good because it wasn't like the other shops. A "Boys' club" at the top of leadership - lots of past coworkers working together again.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Ha, very funny. They don't have ears. Only mouths.

    Nerdery2019-06-03
  5. Utile (14)

    « No idea where the company is heading »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Minneapolis, MN
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nerdery à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The Nerds have always been what made Nerdery a special place to work, but people are leaving left and right, whether through being laid off or quitting on their own accord, so I can't really say that's a pro anymore.

    Inconvénients

    All leadership support of the unique culture that made Nerdery a great organization has been removed and it's a struggle to organize anything special anymore. With so many people leaving, it's unclear whether they want to even have a development portion of the company or simply want to be a consulting group. While adaptation is understandable, there's a real loss of any positive corporate culture or a clear... understanding of where the company wants to go. It's very different than what Nerdery used to be and because of this, I can't advise anyone to consider getting a job there. With so much outside leadership coming in, long-term employees simply leave to get a promotion somewhere else.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I don't know if you have a long-term strategy to sell or simply change the focus of the company, but your current activities (and lack of any sort of culture or current-employee career paths support) will leave you with a shell of a company with nothing but employees that don't care about the company or their work.

    Nerdery2019-04-02

    Réponse de Nerdery

    April 15, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback around your frustrations. As a current employee, I hope you were able to participate in the rollout of our new vision and priorities and that you will work with us as we continue to gain momentum around it. In those sessions, we discussed ...

    Dérouler
  6. Utile (7)

    « WHOA! Lots of Feelings on Glassdoor »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Client Partner à Bloomington, MN
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nerdery à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Nerdery is able to hire really nice people. You're offered a pretty flexible work environment, it's not smack in the middle of downtown, and Nerdery has a pretty decent reputation with clients in the local area. Contrary to what others may think, I do think that the leadership team does care and is willing to listen, but I don't think many people know that. Instead of approaching them to have a conversation, many... sit and let their feelings fester, which is never good.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    There has been a lot of turnover at all levels of the organization, the direction, who we are, what we do and who we help is constantly changing. Many talented people who could have pushed the company to the next level have left. You can look at that two ways - really great talent leaving OR making room for the next generation of new leaders - your choice. Leadership is fine. Many are new, none are the terrible... people that have been cited in the previous posts. Are they similar to the original leaders (owners) who were some of the most down to earth, humble individuals? No, they aren't - but Nerdery isn't the same either. Nerdery used to be an amazing place to work, great perks, lots of fun, ever-changing environment - it still has a lot of those qualities, but the competition does too. There's lots of work to be done there, many production people are incredibly talented in their craft, but lack the soft skills to be client facing and the production staff that does hold those highly coveted skill sets are leading multimillion dollar engagements and won't be able to lead a new project or mentor other people. Everyone leaves jobs, everyone leaves companies. Nerdery isn't terrible, but it also isn't the special gem it used to be. I'll be interested to see where the company goes.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Talk to your people, listen to how they are feeling and empower them to be leaders. There is a lot of good talent left at Nerdery, if you can provide emotional security for them to push some boundaries, great things can happen.

    Nerdery2019-04-11
  7. Utile (5)

    « Lost the way »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nerdery à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Coworkers are great. A great culture that’s slowly degraded to a new normal. There’s potential for greatness. You’ll learn a lot, assuming you have the right connections and get into good projects. Still better then most corporate jobs.

    Inconvénients

    5 star reviews that sound oddly like the leaderships hopes. Turbulence. Never ending revolving door at every level. The great people are inevitably finding themselves much better off elsewhere. Benefits are slowly reduced and are noticeably less then the competition. The common theme is to pay under market rates. The last leader who cared was replaced and now it’s purely about the vision of current leadership,... subject to change based on the winds of the day. Limited growth potential. Lay offs.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Make it the best place in the world for nerds to work. Used to be the slogan.

    Nerdery2019-05-02
  8. Utile (4)

    « Fantastic people and direction »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Bloomington, MN
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nerdery à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The company is finally on the right track after lots of changes over the last several years. Yes, people have left, but the people that remain are awesome, and I'm amazed at the kind of talent that we've been able to attract to help us continue to evolve. I'm really excited about the direction and where we are headed!

    Inconvénients

    There is still some cultural work to be done in getting people focused on the right things (less about us, more about our great work and great clients).

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to keep us all focused on doing great work, and the rest will take care of itself.

    Nerdery2019-02-27

    Réponse de Nerdery

    March 8, 2019NA

    This is Adrian Slobin. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I agree that the people and level of talent here is one of the best part of the job, hands down. You’re right that we have some work to do in terms of culture but I’m excited to see where our new vision statement ...

    Dérouler
  9. Utile (4)

    « Great Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Engineer à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nerdery à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Nerdery really cares for their employees. My job is relatively low on stress. We get a catered meal and free beer every Friday. The kitchen is stocked with free bananas, apples, bagels, cereal, coffee, ramen, oatmeal, chocolate, and LaCroix. Employees at Nerdery are very social and friendly, as well as into technology and their careers. Employees are often empowered to learn new things and cross-train on different... technologies.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The overall vision and direction of the company is mysterious, and attempts to communicate vision to the employees often fall short.

    Nerdery2019-02-19
  10. Utile (2)

    « Best Place I've Ever Worked! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Phoenix, AZ
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nerdery à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    1. The people. The Phoenix team is second to none. Our Phoenix Nerds are not only smart, but they CARE. We are truly a family - each of us on our own mission to help change the world one client at a time. Our Managing Director is an all-around awesome human, too. Such a pleasure to work with! 2. Transparency - In just about everything we do from a business perspective. Our CEO is VERY communicative and has been a... wonderful agent of change over the past year. Some tough decisions have been made, but he has kept us in the loop as to why and what the plan is moving forward. 3. Work/life balance - Each and every one of us enjoys a great balance of work and life. We aren't pushed to work a crazy amount of hours and we are always encouraged to take time off. Many of our Nerds enjoy plenty of flexibility in work from home options as well. 4. We are GOING places!! SO much growth happening in Phoenix. it's an exciting time to be here, especially with the build out of our new office space in Park Central. 5. Solid benefits and lots of little perks! Things like fitness incentives, doc-on-call, LegalShield, etc. We will also be getting a Mother's Room in our brand new space.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    None that I can think of.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Nerdery2019-02-25
168 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer