Avis de Postdoctoral Fellow chez The University of North Carolina System | Glassdoor.fr

Avis de : Postdoctoral Fellow chez The University of North Carolina System

Mis à jour le 15 mai 2017

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

12 avis trouvés

4.5
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
100%
Recommandent à un ami
Bill Roper
0 évaluations
  1. "Postdoctoral Fellowship"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Friendly and intelligent people to work with who are vested in your success as well. Beautiful campus.

    Inconvénients

    Limited parking on campus but public transport is free and accessible to other areas in the Triangle.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-14
  2. "Postdoctoral Fellow"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Research Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Huge amount of resources, nice area with low traffic in the immediate area when compared to other parts of the Triangle. Large competitive research community to help you excel.

    Inconvénients

    Numerous moving parts, and as such some things can be marred with Bureaucracy, but that's to be expected with a University. Research environment of the School of Medicine is other, but not always, toxic.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-15
  3. "Standard Post-doctoral Research Fellowship"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Postdoctoral Research Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez The University of North Carolina System à

    Avantages

    I worked as a Post-doctoral Research Fellow in the chemistry department. Many labs are in the new chemistry building(s), such as Venable Hall. Great opportunities to network with scientists in other labs. It was a positive experience.

    Inconvénients

    I was paid less than the NIH standard for postdocs at the time. I worked long hours but that was mostly self-imposed.

    The University of North Carolina System2016-05-16
  4. Utile (1)

    "Great place for a postdoc"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Research Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Location, support network, campus, people, reputation are all great.

    Inconvénients

    Benefits (insurance premium, lack of dental, changing plans without real notification)

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-07
  5. Utile (1)

    "Supportive environment"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    J'ai travaillé chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Beautiful campus and great campus transportation system, good health benefits through the university hospital and exciting research!

    Inconvénients

    Supportive environment but as with many state universities, lots of uncertainty due to budget cuts, especially in the administration sector.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-19
  6. "UNC Chapel Hill"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à

    Avantages

    This is a beautiful campus, with lots of nice people. The surrounding town of Chapel Hill is a nice place, and it is also accessible from Durham by bus.

    Inconvénients

    As a postdoctoral fellow at a university, much of the experience is determined by the lab I am in rather than at the level of the university. Parking is an issue. The little parking that is available on campus is expensive and often distant. I take the bus from Durham, which is a pleasant ride, during which I can read or enjoy the scenery, but on the rare occasion when I need to drive in, my parking options are not...

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    As a postdoctoral fellow in the School of Medicine, I could do without the regular emails from the University president and others about how the university is working with this or that community to address the latest issue that has to do with an athletic scandal or is only relevant to undergraduates. This is a minor complaint. Certainly not affecting my work.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-21
  7. "One of the most well equipped universities to complete a postdoc"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    State of the art facilities, plenty of grant money, exciting research. Great people to work with and a great reputation, especially locally.

    Inconvénients

    You are a postdoc. Bottom of the Ponzi scheme that is academia. Long work hours with minimal compensation. However, it is the system that is broken, not the institution.

    Conseils à la direction

    More support for postdocs looking for the next step.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-05-29
  8. "good place to do a postdoc"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Lots of seminars on topics beside research, decent health care

    Inconvénients

    small college town, politically liberal but conservative mindset in town

    The University of North Carolina System2014-03-02
  9. "Postdoc at UNC"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Many great investigators. Several cores to share the work-load. Salary ok. Great environment for postdocs with a interactive postdoc forum. Great city to raise a family.

    Inconvénients

    Job opportunities limited regarding assistant professor advancement within the University.

    Conseils à la direction

    Consider hiring talent from within the University.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-02-24
  10. "Ideal for those interested in pursuing an academic career, not conducive for preparing for other scientific careers"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Postdoctoral Fellow à Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommande
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The University of North Carolina System à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Independence - particularly on projects Project Management - lots of opportunities for this as a postdoc in larger labs with undergraduate and graduate students Flexibility - depending on the lab you can have reasonable work/life balance

    Inconvénients

    Limited support for jobs outside of academia Overwhelmed/disconnected PIs

    Conseils à la direction

    Sometimes PIs are overwhelmed with responsibilities, especially given the funding situation and there are long delays in feedback on your work.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-01-09
12 avis trouvés