Avis sur University of Sunderland | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur University of Sunderland

Mis à jour le 21 août 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

23 avis trouvés

3.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
69%
Recommandent à un ami
100%
Approuvent le PDG
University of Sunderland CEO David Bell (no image)
David Bell
2 évaluations
  1. « Brilliant place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Digital Content Editor à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez University of Sunderland à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Friendly, informative and kind staff

    Inconvénients

    None so far, couldn't be happier!

    University of Sunderland2019-08-19
  2. « Great Annual Leave »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Administrative Assistant à Sunderland, North East England, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez University of Sunderland à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Amazing annual leave entitlement from day 1, annual increase till top of grade

    Inconvénients

    Clicky and stuck in ways

    University of Sunderland2019-08-21
  3. Utile (1)

    « Some of the old bones need replacing for more enthusiastic leaders »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Wish to Remain Anonymous LONDON CAMPUS à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez University of Sunderland à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Most of the staff/lecturers are dedicated to helping and developing students. Services for students have come a long way in the time I was there and seemed to be going from strength to strength.

    Inconvénients

    Certain bullying behaviour from certain members of senior staff, some had gone away when I left leaving only some black holes of despair and the organisation is far too top heavy. Not enough respect for people at the bottom/lecturers and the efforts they make to help the students.

    Conseils à la direction

    Make all staff feel valued. Offer some perks and better pension, not a nest pension that only casual workers in Sunderland get. I will admit that I enjoyed my time there for the most part and it was an amazing stepping stone.

    University of Sunderland2019-08-05
  4. « Ex employee feedback »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Manager(Marketing and Communications) 
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez University of Sunderland à temps plein

    Avantages

    Excellent Team Management, Friendly work atmosphere and Supportive

    Inconvénients

    Nothing to say specifically to down the Organization as ETHAMES successfully handled the task of student recruitment to University of Sunderland from India and other South Asian countries. Salaries are required to be hiked as per the current market.

    Conseils à la direction

    Wishing ETHAMES to take up new business ventures in overseas education.

    University of Sunderland2019-07-09
  5. Utile (7)

    « Avoid if at all possible - This review is for the London campus »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre

    Je travaille chez University of Sunderland à temps plein

    Avantages

    - Despite being quite a negative environment, many employees are very pleasant to work with. - The job designs are generally quite poor, so you do get a lot of experience across a range of functions and activities. - Generally good annual leave including 27 days annual in addition to bank holidays and Christmas closure. - They'll pay for you to attend graduation ceremonies, paying for your hotel and expenses,... which is quite lovely.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - The salaries are EXTREMELY poor! The salaries for each job post are probably around £4,000 below equivalent roles in other London HE institutions. This is something that can be researched very easily. They do say they provide LWA of around £1,000... maybe think about what this says about how much they value their staff. - The pension scheme is terrible for a HE institution. UoSiL use NEST and pay a mere 3% of... your salary into your pension. Most other HE institutions have really good DB schemes, for example, the main Sunderland campus uses LGPS for most grades and the employee contribution for this is 12%. Again, what does this suggest to you about how UoSiL see their staff? - They do not promote a Union to you, like all other Universities do. Ask yourself what that indicates. - The work is stressful and difficult due to poor job design. This makes for a low morale, high staff turnover and can take its toll personally. - The students aren't always the easiest to deal with. The Institution tends to attract individuals with educational attainment so low that other Universities won't accept them. Many of the students are there solely for the grants and living cost loans (which is understandable in the current political climate) and the Institution turns a blind eye to this as they want the tuition fee loans. This is often the worst thing for such students, as many struggle to get acceptable grades for employment, end up with debt and don't necessarily get a lot of social or welfare support whilst studying. - Following on from the previous point, some of the students are downright rude, inappropriate and unpleasant to deal with. This adds to the job dissatisfaction. - The Institution uses agents, who blatantly lie to the students about course availability and added extras, leaving them disappointed and as staff you have to deal with their understandably negative reactions! This is one of the extremely unethical aspects... it is downright scamming and immoral treatment of some already vulnerable and disadvantaged individuals in society. (You'd understand this more working in a role there). - The University doesn't operate like a University should. Whilst all Universities have seen a shift to more commercial practices, the UoSiL operates like a fully private sector entity. It is in fact listed as a limited company. It is my opinion that it exists solely to make money for the main campus. This practice is at the expense of disadvantaged students that need living cost money/have social disadvantages that don't allow them enter employment. This is probably another reason for the low salaries- market rate salaries are not seen as an appropriate expense of profits. - Indeed, there are 4 enrolment periods per year, they aim to fill as many spaces as possible and talk primarily in monetary terms, it is a bit unusual to place so much emphasis on this as a University. This many intakes is too much, it detracts from the quality the students get and some academics have admitted that they find it difficult to teach so constantly, but the reality is that 4 intakes makes a lot of money... £9,000 per student approximately. - The Students' Union is really poor and the students do not get services and 'added extras' comparable to most institutions. Which isn't very clear and really unfair. Another reason courses here are bad value for money and another indication of their profit centred approach. - They really sail upon the successes of the main UoS campus and use it to market UoSiL, which gives an inaccurate picture entirely!

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    This will never be actioned, so only worth writing for the benefit of the audience. - £9,000 isn't an appropriate amount of money to be charging students, as the institution is such poor quality. UoS isn't well ranked anyway, if UoSiL was standalone, it would undoubtedly be in the bottom 5% across all measures. There is little value for money and the programmes are definitely not worth £9,000 and I think most... people externally, as well as many internally would agree with that! - Bring up your salaries to match every other 'credible' University in London. You won't do that, but it'll make your staff feel more appreciated, lower the turnover and boost morale. - Get rid of NEST and introduce LGPS like the main UoS campus. Again, this is too expensive and would lower your profits, so you won't do it! - You have some lovely and hardworking people working for you, do something tangible, such as the above to show you appreciate them! - Do not encourage students to stay if they- OR YOU- know the course isn't right for them. Also, don't allow them to stay for continual misconduct! Again, this moral and sensible action would result in money lost, so you won't do it! - Your general practices just aren't like those of normal Universities, it really is quite bizarre! - Ultimately, I think your institution is broadly detrimental to staff and students alike and should simply be decommissioned. I don't for a minute want anyone to lose their jobs, but I do want people to move on to the better working conditions that they deserve! They'd definitely deserve a good redundancy payout. As a final note, yes this is a critical review, but make no mistake that this is what many of your staff are thinking, even if they don't tell you! If there is a follow up comment trying to contest any of this, that's your call, but for any readers, I can assure you this is unembellished and fully accurate to the best of my knowledge. If you take up a post here, you will see this bad environment and treatment for yourself. However, you will certainly have good people to work with for the most part. Use the place as a stepping stone for your career, but don't get comfortable, it only gets vastly better after this!

    Dérouler
    University of Sunderland2019-02-27

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    April 3, 2019HR Adviser

    Dear Employee, I note that you are still employed by the University, therefore I would encourage you to speak to the Director of London Campus or the Human Resource team about your concerns and observations that you listed in your review. I am sure you are aware, we also regularly ...

    Dérouler
  6. « Digitam Marketing Coordinator »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez University of Sunderland à temps plein

    Avantages

    Great team and amazing work-life balance.

    Inconvénients

    Communication between departments could be better.

    University of Sunderland2018-09-23

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    April 18, 2019Head of HR Business Partnering

    Thank you very much for your positive review. Feedback from our staff does show that we are considered a friendly place to work.

  7. « Good place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Sunderland, North East England, Angleterre

    J'ai travaillé chez University of Sunderland à temps partiel plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Social activity, constantly busy, chances to make friends from many different countries on the planet.

    Inconvénients

    Can be open until quite late in some departments such as the library. There is no 9 - 5 and they do sometimes require weekend work.

    University of Sunderland2018-07-24

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    April 18, 2019Head of HR Business Partnering

    Thank you for your positive review. Our exit interview analysis shows that 100% of our leavers would work for us again and also recommend to a friend.

  8. « Nice »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez University of Sunderland à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Good leave and close down holidays Nice location

    Inconvénients

    Salary grades not competative in region

    University of Sunderland2018-03-25

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    April 18, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at the University of Sunderland. We appreciate your feedback.

  9. « University »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Student à Sunderland, North East England, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez University of Sunderland à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    it is very exciting and informative

    Inconvénients

    the debt is a lot for young person

    Conseils à la direction

    N/A

    University of Sunderland2018-01-09

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    February 9, 2018Social Media Coordinator

    We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience of working at the University of Sunderland. Thank you for your feedback.

  10. « Ok orgainations »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez University of Sunderland à temps plein

    Avantages

    Generally good working benefits and atmosphere

    Inconvénients

    Lack of support and interest from executive

    University of Sunderland2017-10-29

    Réponse de University of Sunderland

    February 9, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time working at the University of Sunderland. Your feedback has been taking into account and will be relayed back to the relevant department.

23 avis trouvés