Avis sur World Wide Technology | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur World Wide Technology

Dernière mise à jour : 17 mai 2018
610 avis

Filtrer

Filtrer

Contrat PermanentTemps Partiel

4,4
StarStarStarStarStar
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
Recom­mandent
Approuvent du PDG
World Wide Technology CEO Jim Kavanaugh
Jim Kavanaugh
475 Évaluations

610 Avis des employés

Trier: PopulairesÉvaluationDate

  1. Utile (2)

    « WWT is a GPTW »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Saint Louis, MO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Saint Louis, MO (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Pendant plus de 5 ans)

    Avantages

    WWT allows autonomy to do your job without any micro-management. Managers still have an open door policy that is practiced and preached in my area. I feel valued as an employee and am rewarded by some of the best benefits and perks I have encountered anywhere . There is an emphasis placed on team-building, networking, and social events to build camaraderie and trust across departments. I have fun in my role and enjoy the people I get to work with! Work/life balance is real here- if you work hard, you are rewarded for it.

    Inconvénients

    Formal leadership training programs like NOVA seem to be very difficult to get into. Not sure what the selection criteria is or how to get noticed in a team full of A+ players.

    I understood that new compensation plans were going to be a priority from a Corporate update, but have not seen any communications or plans laid out to right-side salaries of existing employees. Unfortunately, it seems in order to get a nice raise, you have to leave the company and come back at a premium price, even if you didn't gain any additional experience. Even with promotions, raises tend to be much less than IT industry standards.

    Conseils à la direction

    Professional development and more competitive salaries should be areas we can continue to focus on to attract the right caliber of employees, and then retain them for years to come. Conferences and Training definitely boost team morale, give you renewed excitement about your role, and competitive advantage... Pay keeps you coming back for more!

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    10 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much. Regarding NOVA, nominations are performance based and determined by leaders within your department. Departments have a limited number of individuals they can nominate for each... Voir plus


  2. Utile (1)

    « Supply Chain Manager »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps

    Avantages

    Best company and culture to be a part of!

    Inconvénients

    Nothing negative to say about WWT!

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    10 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you!

  3. Utile (2)

    « Lead Warehouse Associate »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps

    Avantages

    Continues to be a great place to work.

    Inconvénients

    They can be a little too laid back sometimes.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the great work.

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    2 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for this feedback and thanks for all your hard work.


  4. Utile (1)

    « I want to retire here! »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Maryland Heights, MO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Maryland Heights, MO (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Pendant plus de 5 ans)

    Avantages

    Everything: the people, the benefits, the flexibility, the generosity for other organizations and charities, the leadership initiatives and open door policies...the list goes on.

    Inconvénients

    It’s hard to get a substantial raise once you have been hired, but I do love the fact that age doesn’t play a factor in positions - WWT trusts younger generations in important roles and doesn’t sidestep quality just because of a certain number of “years of service”.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the good work!

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    7 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for this feedback! Me too.


  5. Utile (4)

    « Phenomenal »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Saint Louis, MO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Saint Louis, MO (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    World Wide feels like a startup, operates at enterprise scale, takes care of its employees in a way that's far off the right end of the bell curve, and boasts a fun, inclusive, and caring company culture that catapults it to the top of the heap. WWT will ask a lot of you and give a lot in return. Constant change is a given, and perpetual learning is an extension of the former. Come here to challenge yourself and have strong support and leadership at your back to accomplish what you set out to do.

    Inconvénients

    As it stands: none.

    All I can think of is WWT runs the risk of losing the recipe for its cultural "secret sauce" as it grows. Working to hire in terms of both competency and "fit" is paramount to WWT's retention of core values, culture, and top talent as it scales.

    Conseils à la direction

    Caution: Do not assume everyone knows everyone like you do. WWT retains many of its original employees, meaning there is a strong network and camaraderie established between a small, high level group. This is NOT inherently bad, but working to establish a strong team culture and sense of belonging within your group helps everyone feel involved and motivated, even (especially) the newest and least-connected members.

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    24 avr. 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Excellent feedback and thank you for the advice. Very well put. Good luck!


  6. « Client Executive »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Sales - Dallas, TX (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Sales - Dallas, TX (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    Culture, Management, Benefits, People, Opportunity

    Inconvénients

    High Expectations, Management needs to be closer to clients, Change often, Resources light

    Conseils à la direction

    Stay closer to clients

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    17 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you.


  7. Utile (4)

    « Material Ops - Commercial East »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Supply Chain - Edwardsville, IL (États-Unis)
    Ancien employé - Supply Chain - Edwardsville, IL (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez World Wide Technology en Contrat Permanent (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    Overall this is a great company to work for, benefits are unheard of, there are great people that work there.

    The company is forever growing making the opportunities within the company grow.

    Inconvénients

    Would advise new/future employees not to go into this department. It’s messy, unorganized, lack of communication, and ran poorly by management with no type of input of the people it affects the most. The management team will preach the “open door” policy but they’re not approachable by any means. They sit in their offices and make decisions without even really knowing their employees. They will will say they want to exploit your strengths but in fact will wait until you fail then it’s the end of the road for you instead of putting you in a different position where your strengths are flourishing.

    They talk about culture but this department has lost the culture this company was built on because the wrong people are in the wrong positions. Really difficult to work your way up unless you are part of the “in” crowd . I saw a lot of friends get promoted instead of the right people .

    The “worker bees” are very under paid for the amount they have to do.

    The training is God awful, you learn nothing during your “training phase” . You go on a pointless scavenger hunt of the building by yourself with no supervision. Then you get thrown in the fire with no knowledge of the systems. They like to preach fail fast which is fine but only if you have a foundation to fall on. In reality you need to train your people first solid they have a solid understanding of what they are doing instead of clicking buttons and causing AVOIDABLE escalations.

    Conseils à la direction

    Honestly get to know your team instead of spitting out the political stuff you call genuine . Nobody believes it . If you keep seeing these negative Glassdoor posts, actually make effective change instead holding meetings and feeding your employees political apologies and promises. People love this company don’t take advantage of it.

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    10 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for this candid feedback. I think some of the concerns are due to rapid growth and changes that are happening/have happened. Some involving reorganization and leadership restructuring... Voir plus

  8. Utile (2)

    « Good company but not at the maturity level that I expected... »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    Great pay, great benefits and a good company on the right path to becoming a great company. WWT is not quite there yet.

    Inconvénients

    Why is WWT not quite there yet? The maturity of the company is not what I expected. Senior leadership gets it, middle management does not. Middle managers hired in some cases, not all, are green with very little professional services field experience (as architects/engineers) that manage architects and engineers in the field that are rock stars. I have seen this first hand. This is disconcerting. Favoritism, nepotism and the good old boy mentality is very evident. Field services engineers are viewed as "resources" (nothing more) with little chance of advancement if they are contributing as rockstars in the field. Pidgeon holed so to speak. Advancement to higher level positions is hired externally, not developed. This has to change or WWT will lose the rockstars that bring in the revenue now and make the company shine. This group is invaluable as the future WWT leaders and with the right grooming should be given every opportunity to advance their careers through what I call "developing budding prospects in the farm system". Instead, these opportunities seem to be hired out externally. I am somewhat disappointed that senior leadership has not seen this trend. It's real. Is this practice acceptable? If I have one ask, it is that senior leadership recognize the talent that is helping WWT grow and move towards the path of transitioning from a good company to a great company by moving the needle a bit in the favor of those that have earned a shot.

    Conseils à la direction

    This message is for senior leadership. Pay closer attention to middle management and how they run their organizations. Challenge them to insure that the best talent is being hired internally before going outside of the company to fill leadership positions externally. Stop the nepotism, favoritism and good old boy tendencies that truly exists (as mentioned in other posts) and progress the company with best talent internally at all levels before going outside the company. Until this happens, WWT will remain a good company. The road to becoming great is recognizing these shortcomings and doing something about it. I hope Jim Kavanaugh reads this post.


  9. Utile (1)

    « Best place to work »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Inside Sales Representative
    Employé actuel - Inside Sales Representative
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Pendant plus de 3 ans)

    Avantages

    Great people! Ideal work to life balance. One of the leaders in the IT Industry.

    Inconvénients

    None that I can think of

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    12 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you!


  10. Utile (7)

    « All That Glitters Aint Gold »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez World Wide Technology à plein temps (Pendant plus de 3 ans)

    Avantages

    Good benefits package
    Flexibility, able to work from home

    Inconvénients

    This company is not what I thought it would be. The longer you work here, the more you see the flaws.
    1) Nepotism
    2) Pay is low
    3) Frivolous spending
    Nepotism needs to be addressed - in no way should a sister report to her brother, or a sister report to her sister, etc. An org. shake up needs to be done. Also, too many new hires have executive connections.
    Pay is low, and there is no good way to get a bump in your salary. If you think you'll increase your pay by moving to a different position, think again. You will continuously move laterally. So, you will end up doing more work with the same amount of pay.
    Company really should scale back on frivolous spending. There are departments that really could use additional head count and can't get the people they need. As the company tightens up on hiring, it doesn't appear to tighten up on unnecessary spending.

    Réponse de World Wide Technology

    10 mai 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. Much of our growth (especially in our smaller and more remote locations) has been with the help of employee referrals. I agree that some of the reporting relationships are not ideal and... Voir plus


Affichage 610 de 661 avis
Réinitialiser les filtres