Avis sur Civis Analytics | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Civis Analytics

Mis à jour le 21 oct. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.2
48%
Recommandent à un ami
34%
Approuvent le PDG
Civis Analytics CEO Dan Wagner (no image)
Dan Wagner
36 évaluations
  1. Utile (7)

    « Best coworkers you'll ever have, but mediocre leadership »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Applied Data Scientist à Chicago, IL
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Civis Analytics à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Smart people, fun culture, some of the projects can be really interesting. I had some of the best coworkers of my career here. I was deeply sad to leave them. I learned an immense amount and it made me a much better data scientist.

    Inconvénients

    The only members of leadership who've been present consistently don't have experience in the positions Civis has asked them to take. They are woefully underprepared for their jobs, up to and including Dan, the CEO. You'll be often asked to do things above your pay grade or skill. Anything from loading data from an unstructured format that could be done much quicker by someone with experience, to deciding the go... to market strategy for consulting work. The company generally acts very immature. No process standardization, no norms enforcement. There are certain people who have jobs that involve a lot of management, process, etc but if they don't do this "softer" parts of their job there's absolutely no feedback. Doesn't live up to the values it set. It's not a very egalitarian workplace. There are a small number of really committed people, especially in middle management (though many of them were recently promoted) who work really hard, and it can be painful to watch them really kill it in spite of the actions of upper management. Work life balance really depends on the team.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire people into c-suite level jobs who know what they're doing. Downscale Dan's role, he's way in over his head.

    Civis Analytics2019-10-21
  2. Utile (5)

    « Start-ups give room for growth »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Civis Analytics à temps plein

    Avantages

    Like any start up, Civis is growing and changing every day. The company allows room for creativity that bubbles up from the bottom. That makes it a place where you can stretch yourself and take on bigger challenges than you would be able to at an established corporation. Civis leadership has a demonstrated willingness to move out leaders and managers who don't fit company values of treating others with respect.... Really excellent work life balance, particularly for junior team members. Unbeatable in this industry.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Start ups aren't for everyone. Change is frequent and instability is part of the package. Civis is at an awkward stage where it's not a tiny start up giving everybody a lot of equity. It's also not an established company that can afford to pay out the nose in salaries. In my opinion, the work life balance (e.g., the majority of employees work 40 hours a week) and relaxed culture makes up for this, but not... everybody wants to make that trade off.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Make sure you listen to all members of your management team, not just the ones who were with Civis on day one. The company is growing and changing, bringing new challenges. The old guard don't have personal experiences to inform all the challenges you now face. That's ok. You've hired managers and directors with more varied backgrounds. Make sure you listen to them and take their input seriously.

    Civis Analytics2019-09-23
  3. Utile (4)

    « Tons of potential, smartest people I've worked with »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Lead à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Civis Analytics à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Hands down, Civis has some of the smartest employees out there -- and not only intelligent, but also passionate about social good and highly engaged in their communities. I genuinely like the people I work with. The work Civis does for clients is highly impactful, which is clear from the number of long-term accounts the company has. There are many companies out there that claim to do “data science,” but Civis is... the real deal. There is a lot of opportunity in this space, and Civis has amazing potential. Projects are exciting and meaningful, particularly compared to other places I have worked. Self-starters will do well here.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Civis is a start up, with many of the same issues you typically see at a start up: disorganization, poor internal communication, lack of formal training and development. Changes in management, but not necessarily all bad changes.

    Conseils à la direction

    Spend more time listening to your employees, many have good ideas and want to help. Improve communication of company decisions.

    Civis Analytics2019-09-18
  4. Utile (5)

    « supportive and exciting place to work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Statistician à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Civis Analytics à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    The people on our team are incredible. So kind, brilliant, and fun.

    Inconvénients

    I don't love working in a WeWork.

    Civis Analytics2019-09-06
  5. Utile (3)

    « Great place to learn »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Applied Data Science Lead 

    Je travaille chez Civis Analytics à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Good learning environment Collaborative colleagues across departments Social mission Diversity of projects Good work life balance

    Inconvénients

    Low pay compared to market Lots of churn among leadership

    Civis Analytics2019-09-08
  6. Utile (14)

    « CEO makes bad moves, alienates employees, company suffers »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Engineer à Chicago, IL
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Civis Analytics à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Wickedly intelligent coworkers - Technically capable engineering management - Tool and (usually) process freedom - Office location downtown is hard to beat - Reasonable benefits

    Inconvénients

    As I recently talked to coworkers and even some of the management, it is clear that most the the problems other reviewers are describing are coming from repeated lack of direction and ego at the top. I've heard of and seen the CEO push all of his problems and the resulting initiatives onto the Director, VP, or other middle management layers, and then constantly get in their way. Then, evidenced by recent firings... in May and July, blame them when it does not work out. He literally said "control alt delete them" as a good thing when referring to wiping out the majority of sales and marketing staff. I was told by multiple people that the management under him at the department levels and even some of the senior management team didn't even know he was going to do this until the Sunday or Monday before it was happening. My co-workers in execution roles attempt success in spite of this, and I saw a lot of very hard work in the engineering department and other associated depts. On reflection, it seems obvious to me now that the company very much does not have even an idea of direction; and when one is "announced" it changes in 2 or 3 months. Departments are expected to move their direction along with it and put out crazy amounts of effort in doing so, then to be told they're going to try something else or be blamed for it not working out. There is no platform of support from the very top. All of the issues I saw there that a bunch of really good people from all levels, from entry level engineer to department lead left because of, seem to stem from top leadership's ability to align, trust lieutenants, or take responsibility. Also, the pay is not market and the company principles were rewritten (but not followed) entirely away from what the employees had wanted and to what the CEO wanted.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Find a direction and stick to it. Listen to those doing the work. Replace the CEO or get him significant training and help, possibly others at his level.

    Civis Analytics2019-08-05
  7. Utile (13)

    « Temporary Data Science training ground only.... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Management 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Civis Analytics à temps plein

    Avantages

    Hires some of the brightest minds and asks them to think creatively about problems. Great place to earn little money, but get bigger problems earlier in your career.

    Inconvénients

    No prospects for someone with more than 3-5 years experience....The CEO and CFO have NO IDEA what a real business is, looks or smells like, or is even making the right moves to become one eventually.

    Conseils à la direction

    Become a non-profit; stop wasting energy on trying to be something that you cannot.

    Civis Analytics2019-07-31
  8. Utile (8)

    « Great place to work - it's why I returned! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Business Development Manager à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Civis Analytics à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Civis is an inclusive environment that gives employees an opportunity to learn, enhance their skills, and bring creative ideas to solving challenges. While I left Civis temporarily to pursue a passion project, I've since returned because it's a great place to work. The culture of the organization is very supportive, fun, and weird (in a good way), and the structure of the organization allows me to consistently learn... from coworkers about how they bring their skills to achieving our clients' objectives. Being on the Sales team allows me the opportunity to interact with Civis's subject matter experts constantly - I learn every day, get to work with some of the smartest people in the industry, and help our clients achieve their goals.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I love it here - if I didn't, I wouldn't have returned after pursuing a personal passion project.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to encourage staff to think outside the box and never accept the status quo. It's truly why I love it here, and what continues to keep me (and other staff) engaged and motivated. The management at Civis is incredibly smart and encouraging to its staff.

    Civis Analytics2019-06-28
  9. Utile (10)

    « Company in a tailspin with no one to pull it out »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Anonymous Employee 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Civis Analytics à temps plein

    Avantages

    Civis has some very smart, compassionate people working there. They work with some great candidates and non-profits, and I truly believe they have their heart in the right place. The office is above average and they plan a lot of social good projects. They make an honest attempt at diversity and inclusion but need to do more to show they're serious.

    Inconvénients

    The company tried to make a jump from a managed service company to a SaaS company with very little planning. They never built products for the marketplace, rather they played it safe and built products for specific clients. They ended up with a suite of products with a very narrow focus and no practical application in the marketplace. When they realized this, they cut many employees involved in the sales, support,... and marketing of the product. Some of these employees were hired away from great jobs only weeks or months prior. Employees continue to leave at a rapid pace, and management doesn't really know how to fix it. Plenty of other reviews point out the shortcomings of the CEO, and all I can do is echo them. I have seen him humilate employees in a very public setting, which is more embarrassing for him than anything. I think he would make a great Chief Product Officer, as he knows the space, but doesn't seem to have the humility to step down. I hope they right the ship in a big way, as Chicago needs great tech companies and I do believe Civis has the right mission at heart.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Listen to all your employees, especially those that don't look like you, that aren't data scientists. Some of us/them might have some relevant experience outside of yours.

    Civis Analytics2019-08-12
  10. Utile (16)

    « Great people, terrible management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Chicago, IL
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Civis Analytics à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    I worked with some of the best and brightest young people, who truly cared about the work we were doing. The mission is great, but management doesn't exemplify it at all. Still, I loved coming to work every day, but my colleagues were frustrated and exhausted.

    Inconvénients

    - Revolving door with terrible retention -- causing chaos, repeated work and mistakes, loss of institutional knowledge. I was exhausted every day. - Little to no direction from management, and constantly shifting priorities. - Salaries are low, and they make you beg for a raise. (And only give them out twice a year, which means rewards are extremely delayed.) - HR as an organization is unapproachable, with no... appetite for change or innovation. They make so many excuses for retention without looking within. - They recently laid off most of sales and marketing (this was after I left). This is not a healthy company. - All of these issues were raised in multiple forums with multiple stakeholders, with no movement in the time I was there (or, it appears, since I left).

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    If Civis were its own client, it would have figured out what was up with retention already. Instead, management keeps making excuses. Management loves to brag about being honest to clients "even when it hurts", but Civis is not being honest with themselves about what is wrong with his company.

    Civis Analytics2019-06-24
43 avis trouvés