Avis sur Fireforge Games | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur Fireforge Games

Mis à jour le mai 10, 2015

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

20 avis trouvés

3.6
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
62%
Recommandent à un ami
65%
Approuvent le PDG
Fireforge Games CEO Tim Campbell (no image)
Tim Campbell
14 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « Very clear direction while fostering creative freedom. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein

    Avantages

    It's rare to find a studio that has established such a clear direction while staying true to the project vision. Goals remain challenging, yet realistic and milestones are being hit on time. I am most impressed with the creative freedom I'm provided, all the while working alongside a maelstrom of industry talent. I feel very fortunate to be a part of this team.

    Inconvénients

    Do I have to have cons for this review to be authentic?

    Conseils à la direction

    Stay on course.

    Fireforge Games2015-05-10
  2. « Buckle up Cowboy - this startup is about to take off! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein

    Avantages

    Fireforge's strongest asset is its seasoned development team - collectively they have created some of the highest rated and grossing games of all time. The project is fresh and exciting and will pave new ground in its genre. The studio has a family atmosphere and is a genuinely fun place to work. The art, design and engineering teams are lead by some amazing talent coupled with a veteran production director.

    Inconvénients

    Hardly a con, Fireforge has quite a few greenhorns on the art staff. They can get into trouble unless properly supervised, but are gaining knowledge daily. Eventually this won't be such a detraction but it definitely slowed progress during early development.

    Conseils à la direction

    Management has brought on some amazing seniors and leads, freeing up the CEO and his executive team to focus on corporate guidance. Keep an eye on them, they are on a trajectory to greatness!

    Fireforge Games2015-04-24
  3. « Great company with a great future »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein

    Avantages

    After several years of hard work and finding it's way, the studio appears to be finally hitting it's stride. Making games in todays market it tough business. The entire gaming landscape has been changing at drastic rates over the last few years, and every game studio that I know has not gone unaffected. The people at Fireforge are a talented, smart group and with the right focus and direction, are more than capable... of making great games. In addition, the founding partners care about the employees. I have seen numerous examples of this in allowing people flexibility with their work schedules and work loads to help when needed. Expect to hear a lot more about Fireforge Games in the coming years.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Initially, the staff mostly consisted of junior, less experienced team members. As time goes on, more senior staff have been brought in, and those once junior are beginning to level up. Making and shipping a video game is an incredibly long, tough, process. Every new company, and every new team takes time to find their footing. Honestly, I am surprised at some of the complaints about the company and can only assume... it comes from people who have not experienced what life at a larger more corporate studio is like. Like most studios, the team has a lot of hard work ahead, but that is to be expected.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Stay the course, continue to focus and execute. Success will follow.

    Fireforge Games2015-04-24
  4. Utile (4)

    « Management trainwreck »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à

    Avantages

    Some genuinely talented and friendly people on the team. Pretty chill development environment. If you can go with the flow, and avoid the axe, the company is a pretty easy place to make a paycheck.

    Inconvénients

    Wild swings in vision for the projects and company that are never communicated to the team. Some questionable business practices both in hiring and compensation. CEO seems to be a nice guy, but is not someone you want in charge of anything if it needs to be done right, on time, or mindful of reality. Major layoffs and departures over the past year or two have made it clear nothing will be shipping at a... quality level that anyone, the team or partners, would be proud of.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Your CEO is not someone that should be involved in making decisions that matter.

    Fireforge Games2015-04-17
  5. « Friendly start-up »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à

    Avantages

    I've been in the industry for a while and it's exciting to work on an original game and IP. This company owns both and they're self-publishing which means they don't answer to marketing stooges or suits making decisions. FF is developing MBER, a platform that supports other games. It's reasonable to expect with a dozen server programmers on board, the game will have good servers. Their first product is a... free-to-play game, designed by a bunch of ex-Blizzard devs. The tools are good and people can work in the software they feel most comfortable in. The CEO is friendly (his wife is HR) and they make food for us often. There's free cereal, ramen and coffee made in the most epic coffee maker and nicest kitchen I've ever seen. The underground parking is cool too. There's lots of opportunity (and you can wear many hats) to create an original game (they're not cloning something else) and the management cares that you enjoy what you're doing. The CEO doesn't want to sell the company and I believe him. He's making a lot of decisions that are good for the long term. Lots of studio owners want to pump-and-dump as soon as they sell their company and retire, leaving all the devs to hang in the wind. I've seen this a lot. They don't fake things like lying to the press. There's games and social things during lunch everyday and game playing after work. The little crunching we've done so far is mostly voluntary and nothing like I've seen before. Some places work you to death and they haven't done that hear.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    This company is near Blizzard. I'm sick of hearing all the Blizzard war stories. It's a start-up and this company is often cheap. Frugal is the word they use. There's also growing pains you expect from a start-up (but the family atmosphere is refreshing and a welcome change from the corporate-run dev houses up north). We've stopped and started a lot on our first project. The Blizzard devs running the company... says iteration is the "Blizzard way" so if you to put a quick title (like a clone) under your belt, look elsewhere. They HAVE NO WEBSITE!! It looks like a fly-by-night outfit but they're supposed to announce the company when they announce their first project. There's a lot of talk about other projects but so far there's only the first.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Communication needs to improve.

    Fireforge Games2015-01-08
  6. « Growing pains, but heading for awesome »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Amazing talent - Art, design, animation and engineering are all stronger than they've ever been and the results are beginning to show. Tremendous potential - There are a gazillion game developers out there, all of them hoping to be the ones who knock one out of the park. But FireForge has the right ingredients to make it into the majors: talent, vision and backing.

    Inconvénients

    Like a lot of startups, FireForge has had its share of rough spots. Goals have changed more than they should. People's roles have been unclear. Leadership has sometimes been distracted or overwhelmed by having to wear too many hats at the same time.

    Conseils à la direction

    Delegate as much as you can. Make sure roles, especially at the senior levels, are clear. Keep the company focused on its core competencies. The rest will come.

    Fireforge Games2014-12-23
  7. « Great place to work with great people, high potential »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     à Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à

    Avantages

    I've worked at big video game companies before (i.e. EA) and smaller ones (i.e. Westwood Studios.) I definitely love the smaller companies better. It's more personable, there are all kinds of opportunities if you work for them (which you should.) I'm really not sure why there are so many reviews with " lots of crunch time." This is the video gaming industry! This is absolutely normal! If you don't like crunching,... go find another interest besides video games!" When there is crunching here, it is mostly limited to weekdays; hardly any weekends.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    FireForge is still considered a startup company. Compensation may not be what you expect from bigger companies, but as I said it is a startup company.

    Fireforge Games2014-12-23
  8. « Feels like a family »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein

    Avantages

    This company is a special one. While it is absolutely a professional environment, it feels like a small company and has a family atmosphere. The owners are super-passionate and care deeply about the people. They go out of their way to take care of folks. One recent example was an employee with serious health issues who they bent over backwards to accommodate. I also must point out how good the CEO is at... wearing many hats. In all small companies the senior staff are often asked to wear a range of hats. The CEO does this as well as anyone I've ever seen. His ability to smoothly handle a conversation about design, shift to handle a personnel issue, then answer a call about business development without missing a step is nothing short of astounding. For a prospective employee, what you can expect from Fireforge is a leadership team that will work hard for you, never asking you to do something they aren't doing. You can also expect a challenging environment, where you are often expected to be pro-active and agile to handle a fast-paced and vibrant project. This is not a retirement company, it is a real strong young company with a bright future. Fireforge is solidly backed, has momentum, and is on a track to greatness. The culture is equally awesome, with frequent gaming at the company, including boardgames (which are on a set of bookshelves for anyone to play!).

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Because Fireforge is small, and still a start-up, salaries aren't terribly high. That having been said, the company absolutely is a merit based place where folks who perform are rewarded. Again, because they are a start-up, sometimes there are growing pains. These can manifest as lack of senior bandwidth and thus sometimes lack of detailed direction, delays in important things like reviews, or as frequent... changes in the direction of the projects. Because Fireforge has one primary financial backer, that group can sometimes get heavy handed in direction change which can impact the team pretty directly.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Focus on giving explicit direction to folks, and do your best to control project direction changes. Also, don't let reviews get so far behind as they are really important to maintaining morale.

    Fireforge Games2014-12-22
  9. « Great studio with awesome people and huge potential, but still growing »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    This studio has a good mix of developers, from extremely senior folks that made some of the best Triple-A titles, all the way down to entry level folks eager to contribute. For a startup, it’s amazing how many “master” level developers it has gathered here. It’s been great for me to be here, because I get so much exposure to so many talented people, and I have learned so much from everyone around me! The... project I’m on is a very ambitious one. It’s difficult to describe, because we are still in mid development, and there are a lot of external factors guiding its direction. It has shifted directions a few times, and most likely will continue to do so. The direction shifts do bother some people, but it’s how the industry works, and it’s not a big deal to me. I just keep my headphone on & tune out those grumpy people. The office is super nice too. The management really go out of their way to be sure we are well equipped, and comfortable, so we can work effectively. I’m using a super nice PC & Cintiq & Ultrasharp, which is a dream setup to work with. My work area is spacious. Standing desks are available to those who want to stand all day. There is a really nice kitchen here. Many folks often use it to make yummy treats to share. Someone is always making cookies, waffles, cupcakes, and even full meals, for everyone to share. We had a Thanksgiving potluck, and the food people contributed is simply amazing! The industrial-level coffee maker provides top quality coffee for everyone. Overall, the whole office feels very warm & friendly. The office is already decorated for the holidays!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    As the design direction and development pipeline shifted around, we had to quickly learn new software & techniques & processes. Learning is always a good thing to me, but sometimes the quickness needed do add pressure to the team. We have had to do some crunches to showcase things; but, overall, the crunches here are really lite, especially compared with the ones I had to endure at other studios before. Things... sometimes change too quickly for management to disseminate to the team, which causes uncertainties & nervousness, especially with those who have never shipped a game before. A lot of the changes seem to be the result of having too many people involved (internally & externally) in the design decisions, and they tend to complicate things & disrupt development. Of course, this is normal with any game development, but I wish there are less people involved at the top level, and shut off those noisy inputs. Another problem is the internal tools & processes we had to use. It does take time & effort to develop & smooth out the tools and processes. A lot of improvements have been made by our tools team, but more is needed. It would be good if we can get more experienced tools developers to do more improvements.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Please try to nail down the design & schedule & keep the team informed. FireForge is a really nice studio w/ lots of really talented people, and I really want it to succeed. Don’t be afraid to ask more of the team, such as crunches or be held accountable for their decisions, as long as they are clear & meaningful. Keep improving the tools & pipelines, so we can work more effectively. I would really hate to see... FireForge fail because it took too long time to make a game. “Shipping” is good, so let’s get in the “shipping” mode!

    Dérouler
    Fireforge Games2014-12-11
  10. « I have been working at Fireforge Games full-time (more than a year) »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Fireforge Games à

    Avantages

    The staff is a mix of veterans and junior members which really makes working here fun and interesting. There is a lot of hands on development experience from a variety of other studios, which is balanced well by the enthusiasm and creativity of the younger staff. Basically everyone here is pretty cool, and I have yet to have a negative interaction with anyone. Great strides have been made in hiring the mid-level... management positions to oversee development (and their experience is epic), as well as in refining the project management aspect of the development process. The executives and managers are honest and truly care about the staff, and I believe that their vision will enable us to reach our goals. The new office is really nice and they try really hard to make the working environment fun.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Still a startup, with many of the challenges that come with not having shipped a product yet. For some of the staff who have not worked at a studio before and do not understand the business side of the industry, every bump is met with a degree of fear. As with all studios, there are crunch times, but they don't seem to last as long as I've experienced in the past.

    Conseils à la direction

    Every organization has issues with communication, and that’s something we can improve upon. When changes in direction have to be made, be sure to lay out the reasons for the change, how we went about looking at our options, and why we decided on the new direction. Over communication is not a bad thing.

    Fireforge Games2014-12-05
20 avis trouvés