Avis sur TransPerfect | Glassdoor.fr

Avis sur TransPerfect

Mis à jour le 13 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.8
34%
Recommandent à un ami
43%
Approuvent le PDG
TransPerfect CEO Phil Shawe (no image)
Phil Shawe
56 évaluations
  1. « Une société géniale où travailler si vous êtes dynamique, entreprenant et orienté vers la réussite »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Développement Commercial à Paris
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez TransPerfect à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Progression de carrière rapide Rémunération à la réussite - les employés qui réussissent sont très bien payés Environnement vraiment international - opportunités de voyage, conférences internationales formidables. Management très accessible Société très j

    Inconvénients

    Les horaires de travail peuvent être longs, mais de manière générale, votre expérience chez TransPerfect dépendra de votre réussite. Si vous réussissez vous serez très heureux et ferez une carrière prospère.

    Traduit de l'anglais
    Afficher l'original
    TransPerfect2012-08-01
  2. « Internal translator »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Internal Translator à Barcelone

    J'ai travaillé chez TransPerfect à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Convivialité, on aprend beaucoup, le chef d'équipe était à l'écoute.

    Inconvénients

    Salaire très faible, stressant, pression de travail.

    TransPerfect2019-11-04
  3. « Project Coordinator »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez TransPerfect à temps plein

    Avantages

    Great Team and a lovely atmosphere in the office. Overall the team are all very helpful and coordination/communication is top.

    Inconvénients

    apparently it is alright to work +1h of overtime per day and not get payed for it. While I do accept that on some occasions it is needed to put in the extra hours, it is not acceptable to be doing this every day at this low pay. if you are ready to sacrifice all your private time and work ridiculous!! hours just to maybe get a payraise of £+2000 (EBT) per year then this might be your dream job. even though... personal growth and progression were focused on in interviews there is little excitement in the work, really the senior project managers do almost the same jobs as the newbies. highly specialised Translators are payed pennies for the difficult and specific Scientific documents. I think it is ridiculous to pay a legal-scientific trabslator less than 20USD for translating complexe materials and to fight for pennies, no joke if you can get it 1USD cheaper then do it is what management told us!

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    pay the people for the work they do, if the workload is this big employ more people

    TransPerfect2018-12-26
  4. Utile (3)

    « Hard to collaborate for independent contractors »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez TransPerfect à

    Avantages

    There are jobs available most of the time, depending on languages and area of specialization, but the turnaround is usually very short.

    Inconvénients

    Messy communication, bidding system is not user-friendly and also a mess. I routinely get offered work in languages I don't even do!

    Conseils à la direction

    Streamline your processes, stop wasting time and resources. You'll get far better results in the medium-term.

    TransPerfect2018-02-03
  5. Utile (1)

    « "Last-man standing" promotions and aggressive sales culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Account Manager 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez TransPerfect à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    central location, international, diverse and some genuinely lovely colleagues. If you want to work in a corportate setting, you will learn a lot about office politics. I work in a really nice team with a great manager, however this is like being on a tropical island surrounded by shark-infested waters due to the high level of dysfunction I witness on a daily basis within the company. I have certainly been... challenged in some ways, had some great projects, and have had a lot of autonomy to experiment.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    You can advance if you know who to please, but a lot of self-promotion is required in this company, so not a good fit for people searching for a humanistic company where your work speaks for itself. I would not recommend this company as a first job to a recent college graduate, as you need a certain level of professional experience to recognize and navigate the dysfunction. Bad behavior is tolerated and never... reprehended if you have a certain level of seniority and positive results (alcoholism, sexual harassment, harassment) I have yet to understand their operations policy, which does not seem cost effective. We frequently receive deliveries that are first shipped to the London office, than shipped to our office. We receive appliances that are for the UK, so you need adapters, which is not at all practical. Promotions seem to be either based on either relationships or come from being the last one remaining. Management is out of touch with the needs of employees, or doesn't care to change company culture, as perhaps they are ok with the high turn over an costs this represents. Incredibly high turn over, workload, and pression in certain roles/teams means you witness to or are subject to harsh and unsympathetic working conditions For a technology service company, they have incredibly antiquated tehnology for employees. I have outlook 2007. It is nearly impossible to get a laptop as this needs to be approved by the CEO, and in certain roles there is a lot of travel where employees have to bring their own computer.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop the self-promotion and actually have a transparent conversation with your line employees.

    TransPerfect2019-09-23
  6. Utile (4)

    « Good company, worst management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Coordinator à Paris
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez TransPerfect à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    -Great opportunity to learn new tools and skills -Fast paced work environment -Great coworkers

    Inconvénients

    -No communication whatsoever in the Paris production team -No raise possible -Ridiculously low salary compared to similar companies in Paris -Long work hours, no rewards (unpaid) -Absent, uninvolved and unhelpful manager, this has really been the worst part of it all, to cover up for their unprofessionalism to get things done and still get sanctionned afterwards while they ripped the rewards.

    Conseils à la direction

    Please rethink your management strategies in the Paris production temam. The turnover for such a small team should be proof enought that something is not right there. Also think about raising your salary ofefr as this is way too low, even if the managemlent improves there are still tones of better paying simila position

    TransPerfect2018-02-22
  7. Utile (22)

    « Avoid at all costs »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Account Manager à Paris
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez TransPerfect à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    There are very few. The only positive I can really give is that the regular members of staff are often very bright, funny and friendly people. I was only there for nine months but during that period I made some great people who turned into really good friends.

    Inconvénients

    How long have you got? Management: I suppose the biggest con is the fact that the managers are all completely and utterly inept. I met managers from a couple of different European offices and also had quite a few e-exchanges with some in the US, which is where the company's headquarters is based. Unfortunately they are nearly always rude, obnoxious, arrogant and really rather ignorant. They have often... advanced up the TransPerfect ladder due to their resilience and ability to deal with the quite appalling internal politics that takes place. They are, in my experience at least, never actually equipped to manage people. They have got experience of managing accounts, often accruing accounts and therefore building their book of business through luck more than judgement. They then tend to take on an approach where 'one size fits all.' This is to suggest that they treat all of their team members in exactly the same way and do not consider individual and, perhaps more importantly, cultural differences. Cultural differences: That last point is something that particularly frustrated me during my time at the company. Americans have a very different approach to most other nationalities. I am British and felt that the 'sell at all costs' approach was slightly unethical. I was encouraged at points to exaggerate our value proposition to clients in order to try and impress them. This probably works in the short term, but in the long term I have no doubt that it would come back to haunt you. Unrealistic targets: The targets set by the managers are often completely untenable. By setting these targets they immediately set people up to fail. It gives the impression that people are underperforming even if they are doing their best. Punishments: Managers are very keen to punish team members who do not reach the quite ludicrous targets that are set. One such punishment for failing to reach targets that was suggested but never actually implemented was for the member of staff concerned to have to sing a song in front of the whole team. It was only when other team members informed the manager that they did not agree with it that she relented. This sort of humiliation does not encourage someone to perform well, instead it creates resentment and anger. That sort of behaviour is indicative of the company, and goes to show just how ill prepared people are when they are given management positions. Relentless reporting: Without a shadow of a doubt the most tedious part of the job. They don’t tell you when you do the interview that you have to submit an end of day (EOD) report EVERY SINGLE DAY! Often this is follow by and end of week (EOW) and in some cases even an end of month. Essentially you end up regurgitating the same information three times. It is utterly pointless and a complete waste of time. It also gives you the impression of being back at school and also being constantly surveyed. Not a good way to keep up morale. Systems & poor quality: TransPerfect has many internal problems. You only have to google the company to find articles explaining the extremely ugly relationship that exists between the two CEOs. The company has been told by a court of law that it has to be sold and it is currently looking for a buyer. While this is going on the management team is absolutely relentless in ensuring that it maximises every possible deal, while keeping costs to a minimum. Until the company is sold there will be no investment in new electronic systems which are badly needed. The sales teams and various other departments are using programs that are anything between 8-15 years old. They are confusing to use and more importantly very time consuming. The other crucial element is the quality that TransPerfect provides its clients. I was always receiving or hearing about complaints made by clients who were saying that the quality of the work TransPerfect was providing was simply not good enough. Furthermore, clients are charged very high rates, way above the market rate, and very little of that money gets fed back to the linguists who produce the work. It is therefore obvious to see where the problems lie. It is a vicious circle where management ensure their pockets are well lined, and then don’t pay the linguists who produce the work a reasonable sum. The company simply cannot continue in this vein.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Train yourselves. Ensure that you are able to perform your roles properly. Management is much more than just guaranteeing profits, it is also about maintaining team spirit and understanding the individual traits of your team members. Invest in the company and not just line your own pockets. Pay your linguists better. If they were provided with a better pay package you would inevitably see better quality... being produced. You would then have sales teams not spending so much money dealing with complaints and problems with quality.

    Dérouler
    TransPerfect2017-09-01
  8. Utile (9)

    « Avoid at all costs »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Business Dev Manager à Paris
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    J'ai travaillé chez TransPerfect à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    not a single one

    Inconvénients

    Poor management, this company is a complete waste of time.

    Conseils à la direction

    none, i'm pretty sure you love yourselves so much you won't change a thing.

    TransPerfect2017-09-08
  9. Utile (11)

    « A complete nightmare »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Project Coordinator 
    Ne recommande pas
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez TransPerfect à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Multicultural environment Nice office in the center of Paris

    Inconvénients

    -Mediocre middle management. Unprofessional and childish team lead who spend their days chatting over skype or shopping online. -Lots of workload, more than a project coordinator can handle. -Overall depressive environment. -Not much opportunity other than getting some experience. -Long work hours, no life work balance

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop giving positive comments about the company, it's pathetic.

    TransPerfect2017-06-19
  10. « Challenging, good experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez TransPerfect à temps plein

    Avantages

    Amazing experience, fast paced environment where you learn how to work with high level partners and how to be efficient. It's a good place to start a sales career.

    Inconvénients

    Way too long working hours without getting paid overtime

    Conseils à la direction

    Have more experienced people in management.

    TransPerfect2015-12-15
883 avis trouvés